![]() |
|
|||
Just making sure i understand this correctly---
R1, R2, 0 out. B4 hits a single to right. R2 is gunned down at home. R1 ends up on third and B4 ends up on second. B4 is then discovered to have used an illegal bat. OBR- "No advancement on the bases shall be permitted and any outs on the play stand" Soooo i'm thinking: BR- out on the penalty R1- sent back to first R2- out on the play- removed from second Is this right? Is this the same rule in FED? |
|
|||
![]()
bossman72,
What was illegal about the bat? Under OBR it matters as to whether the bat was simply "out of spec" (play stands, no penalty, bat removed when discovered to be illegal) or had it been "illegally altered" (play nullifed, batter out & ejected, bat confiscated)? FED does not make the distinction between "out of spec" & "illegally altered" - either way, batter is out, offensive benefit is nullified, any out on the play stand. Batter subject to out penalty upon entering box with an illegal bat. JM |
|
|||
well thats why you are encouraged to check bats before the game, but nobody really does until playoffs come, or the question is brought up.
i was working a tourny in my home town and they were told strict fed rules, but failed to tell the umpires, a coach is in the process of protesting the game for the fact that a batter used a -5 bat instead of the -3 bat. what made us all mad was that the bat was questioned in the FIFTH inning when the team was losing.
__________________
while umpiring I have yet to WIN, LOSE, or even TIE a game. I am only there to call it like I see it. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|