The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   Interference? (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/21177-interference.html)

bossman72 Wed Jul 06, 2005 12:15am

Had this happen the other day:

R2. Batter hits a grounder to F6. F6 charges and catches the ball. His momentum then takes him a couple steps towards home where he sets to throw. Just as he cocks his arm back, R2 crashes into him. R2 really didn't have much time to react. I called him out for runner's interference.

I then thought about it and have this question:

I know the fielder is protected from fielding a batted ball, but once the ball is fielded and before he throws it, does he have the same type of protection? Was my call right?

Thanks

bossman

cowbyfan1 Wed Jul 06, 2005 01:38am

Quote:

Originally posted by bossman72
Had this happen the other day:

R2. Batter hits a grounder to F6. F6 charges and catches the ball. His momentum then takes him a couple steps towards home where he sets to throw. Just as he cocks his arm back, R2 crashes into him. R2 really didn't have much time to react. I called him out for runner's interference.

I then thought about it and have this question:

I know the fielder is protected from fielding a batted ball, but once the ball is fielded and before he throws it, does he have the same type of protection? Was my call right?

Thanks

bossman

Sounds to me like it was right. F6 was still in the process for making that play. R2 running into him prevented that so interference is the right call. Call R2 out and then call the BR out.

Matthew F Wed Jul 06, 2005 05:49am

...and don't forget to put any other runners back to their base at TOP.

PeteBooth Wed Jul 06, 2005 06:17am

<i> Originally posted by bossman72 </i>

<b> I know the fielder is protected from fielding a batted ball, but once the ball is fielded and before he throws it, does he have the same type of protection? Was my call right? </b>

The fielder is protected the MOMENT we as umpires judge that F4 is in the act of fielding the ball and ENDS when:

1. The Fielder throws the ball (follow through) OR

2. The Fielder boots/misplays the ball and the ball is not in his immediate reach.

Therefore, in your play F4 still had protection as he had not yet released the ball.

Pete Booth

3appleshigh Wed Jul 06, 2005 09:29am

am I the only one
 
I only have R2 out, BR gets first all others return to TOP unless forced??

is this right?

Carbide Keyman Wed Jul 06, 2005 09:33am

yes, 3apps
 
If I read the other posts correctly, yes you are in the minority on this one.


Doug

3appleshigh Wed Jul 06, 2005 09:45am

doug
 
I may be in the minority, but was I right or wrong??

Carbide Keyman Wed Jul 06, 2005 09:55am

Personally.......
 
As the sitch is written, I believe interference is the right call. BUT, I don't totally disagree with the premise you proposed.



Doug

gordon30307 Wed Jul 06, 2005 10:54am

Re: doug
 
Quote:

Originally posted by 3appleshigh
I may be in the minority, but was I right or wrong??
You are right.

bluehair Wed Jul 06, 2005 11:02am

Quote:

Originally posted by cowbyfan1
Call R2 out and then call the BR out.
Why is BR out? In the original sitch:
Quote:

Originally posted by bossman72
R2 really didn't have much time to react.
This doesn't sound like an intentional act. What justification do you have for calling BR out also?

gordon30307 Wed Jul 06, 2005 11:03am

Quote:

Originally posted by cowbyfan1
Quote:

Originally posted by bossman72
Had this happen the other day:

R2. Batter hits a grounder to F6. F6 charges and catches the ball. His momentum then takes him a couple steps towards home where he sets to throw. Just as he cocks his arm back, R2 crashes into him. R2 really didn't have much time to react. I called him out for runner's interference.

I then thought about it and have this question:

I know the fielder is protected from fielding a batted ball, but once the ball is fielded and before he throws it, does he have the same type of protection? Was my call right?

Thanks

bossman

Sounds to me like it was right. F6 was still in the process for making that play. R2 running into him prevented that so interference is the right call. Call R2 out and then call the BR out.

Ball immediately dead R2 out, runners return to base at TOP unless forced to advance award BR first. Assuming of course this is not a force play slide situation. If it is call BR out as well. If you feel a double play was prevented by the runners action (not a force play slide situation) you could call BR out as well, however, as I understand it and from what I have read and heard at various camps and clinics this is a huge leap of faith and it should generally not be
called.

gordon30307 Wed Jul 06, 2005 11:09am

This doesn't sound like an intentional act. What justification do you have for calling BR out also? [/B][/QUOTE]

Intent is never an issue in the case of interference or obstruction. Makes no difference in how the prescribed penalty is applied.

3appleshigh Wed Jul 06, 2005 11:30am

carbide
 
Sorry, I was calling interference, but not the BR out as was suggested. Thanks for those that saved my mentality, I couldn't see where I was wrong on the penalty.

officialtony Wed Jul 06, 2005 11:41am

Doesn't sound like a double play would have been automatic here. I would have called, interference, dead ball, R2 is out, BR is at 1st. There were no other runners in the original post ( I am presuming R2 means a runner at 2nd since there was no mention of R1 ). BU would have to presume that F6 was going to get both R2 and BR on the play to also call BR out. Without a force, that probaly was not the case.

However, if there was R1 and R2, it sounds like a double play was imminent and BU could easily make the R2 out and BR out call with justification.

Just my humble opinion.

Carbide Keyman Wed Jul 06, 2005 11:55am

Some crow, please................
 
3apps,

My sincerest apologies. As was stated in a previous post, most clinicians would agree that it would be a great leap of faith to bang out the BR as the sitch is written. Only if the interference was clearly intentional, might you call the BR out.

Now, I scurry off to the corner to lick my wounds.


Doug

GarthB Wed Jul 06, 2005 12:27pm

Quote:

Originally posted by gordon30307
This doesn't sound like an intentional act. What justification do you have for calling BR out also?
Intent is never an issue in the case of interference or obstruction. Makes no difference in how the prescribed penalty is applied. [/QUOTE]

Not true.

[Edited by GarthB on Jul 6th, 2005 at 01:30 PM]

bluehair Wed Jul 06, 2005 12:29pm

Quote:

Originally posted by gordon30307
Intent is never an issue in the case of interference or obstruction. Makes no difference in how the prescribed penalty is applied.
That's not true.Don't say never. It is not part of this sitch, but the intent of a runner that intentionally interfers on a double play has an effect (both runner and BR are out) and the intent of a runner that is in contact with a base that intentionally interfers has an effect (both runner and BR are out).

Intent can effect the penalty (situation dependent).


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:07pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1