The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   Obstruction - (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/2088-obstruction.html)

PeteBooth Mon Apr 02, 2001 08:18am

Obstruction - "in the Act of Making a Play"
 
This past Saturday I had a <b> Mandatory HS </b> meeting to attend. The meeting dealt with some controversial rules and also on mechanics.

Of coarse, one of our favorite subjects came up Obstruction most notably Obstruction on the part of F2.

The question which has been discussed adnausam on the internet forum - Exactly what is meant by <b> In The Act Of Making a Play </b> came up especially from the new guys.

Play: r2 B1 singles to right, r2 rounding thrid heading for home

The way is was explained and <b> the way the association wants it called </b> is as follows:

F2 can set up about 2 or 3 ft up the line and block home plate if he is <i> about to receive the ball </i>

In other words F2 cannot position himself 2 or 3 feet up the third base-line blocking the base if the ball is still in the outfield; F4 has the relay throw or releases the throw. The ball has to be <b> near the pitchers mound and F2 ready to receive it on the bounce. </b>

Therefore, if F2 sets himself up 2 or 3 feet up the third base line blocking the base and the ball is still in the outfield or in the glove of the cut-off man, and r2 has to slow-down or go around F2 we are <b> to call Obstruction </b>

In order to be consistent, I would recommend that those of you who have similar problems in defining <b> in the act of making a play </b>, check with your associations to get a clear-cut definition of this so that the call is consistent from 1 group of umpires to the next.

Pete Booth

bob jenkins Mon Apr 02, 2001 10:15am

Re: Obstruction -
 
Quote:

Originally posted by PeteBooth
]In other words F2 cannot position himself 2 or 3 feet up the third base-line blocking the base if the ball is still in the outfield; F4 has the relay throw or releases the throw. The ball has to be <b> near the pitchers mound and F2 ready to receive it on the bounce. </b>

Therefore, if F2 sets himself up 2 or 3 feet up the third base line blocking the base and the ball is still in the outfield or in the glove of the cut-off man, and r2 has to slow-down or go around F2 we are <b> to call Obstruction </b>


Other than perhaps the specifics (?) of "near the pitchers (sic) mound" this is exactly the guidelines that have been mentioned on various internet forums by Carl, me, and others.

umpyre007 Mon Apr 02, 2001 07:23pm

Re: Obstruction -
 
Quote:

Originally posted by PeteBooth
The ball has to be near the pitchers mound and F2 ready to receive it on the bounce.
What happens if the ball is a frozen rope and doesn't bounce? [just kidding] :D

Thane Yennie Mon Apr 02, 2001 07:53pm

Immediately call time, note where the runner from third is at the time of release. Return the ball to the fielder who threw it to the catcher, the runner to the point of release and tell them to try it again. big grin

I am sitting here in the middle of parent/teacher conferences bored out of my mind. I needed a little levity. ty

umpyre007 Mon Apr 02, 2001 09:50pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Thane Yennie
Immediately call time, note where the runner from third is at the time of release. Return the ball to the fielder who threw it to the catcher, the runner to the point of release and tell them to try it again. big grin

I am sitting here in the middle of parent/teacher conferences bored out of my mind. I needed a little levity. ty

How about a complete do-over? Issue a warning to the outfielder that further attempts to throw the ball on a line without a bounce will result in immediate ejection. :D

Whowefoolin Tue Apr 03, 2001 12:45am

If the ball is in left field and the play is at first or home, then ball must be in the in-field to be considered in "the act" of fielding (defining infield I am considering the area to be called as an infield fly).

If ball is in right field and the play is to third or home same as above.

If ball is in outfield and fielder has possession, then any immediate base close to make a play is in the act.

If it is in the infield, then all bases able to make a play would be potentially in the act.

Rule of thumb only.

I learned that here, not at a mandatory meeting.

JJ Tue Apr 03, 2001 07:35am

I was taught "If the ball is inside the runner - closer to home than he is - the catcher is OK". Another rule of thumb.

Thane Yennie Tue Apr 03, 2001 01:30pm

I like that idea. but what if the runner is two steps away and the ball is right on his keester? I would say the catcher is in the act of fielding and has a right to be there. I have heard any thrown ball within the arc of the pitcher's plate from foul line to foul line (takes about 2 seconds to travel that distance)is legitimate distance for the catcher to pitch a tent.

bob jenkins Tue Apr 03, 2001 02:21pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Thane Yennie
I like that idea. but what if the runner is two steps away and the ball is right on his keester? I would say the catcher is in the act of fielding and has a right to be there. I have heard any thrown ball within the arc of the pitcher's plate from foul line to foul line (takes about 2 seconds to travel that distance)is legitimate distance for the catcher to pitch a tent.
You've gotta get fielders with better arms. 60 feet in 2 seconds is about 20 miles per hour.

At 60 mph it would take about .6 seconds

(I hope I did that math right)

Thane Yennie Tue Apr 03, 2001 08:16pm

who the heck is doing math and figuring the velocity a 14 year old can generate. I was making a SWAG (scientific, wilda--, guess)

umpyre007 Tue Apr 03, 2001 10:38pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Thane Yennie
who the heck is doing math and figuring the velocity a 14 year old can generate. I was making a SWAG (scientific, wilda--, guess)
Between you, me and Bob this thread went north real quick. ;)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:46pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1