The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 10, 2005, 07:31pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 123
Send a message via AIM to Peruvian Send a message via Yahoo to Peruvian
A coach asked me this last night and I did not have a difinitive answer. Looking for help here.

Situation: R1, 2 outs, 3-2 count on the batter. R1, of course, is running on the 3-2 pitch. The pitcher comes set, picks up his not-pivot foot as normal and while the runner is advancing, pivots toward an unoccupied second base and throws to the second baseman covering second. The advancing runner is put out.

Is this a balk?

I have never, ever, seen this attempted before, but I know there has to be something in the rule book prohibiting this action.

However, the phrase in rule 6-2-4b "throwing or feinting to any unoccupied base when it IS NOT an attempt to put out or drive back a runner [is a balk]" would tell me that this play, however bush league it may be, is in fact a legal play.

Thoughts? I'm balking it unless I can confirm otherwise. (Sorry, coach...lol)
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:51pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1