The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   Clarification - Tags (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/20781-clarification-tags.html)

ahudgins21 Wed Jun 08, 2005 10:40pm

A player has the ball in bare hand, tags a runner off the base with glove. Out or safe? Please clarify. Thanks.

U_of_I_Blue Wed Jun 08, 2005 10:45pm

If the player is tagged with the glove, the ball must be in the glove. If not, runner is safe if she gets on base before she is tagged the correct way. Also, the fielder could tag her with her bare (ungloved hand) with the ball in it. Either way you look at it, the ball must be in the hand the tag is made with.

-Josh

mbyron Wed Jun 08, 2005 10:56pm

I can think of only one situation where you'd have an out: ball in throwing hand, glove tags a base to which a runner is FORCED.

That's not your sitch, though. On any tag play, runner must be tagged with the ball, including being tagged by ball-in-glove.

GarthB Wed Jun 08, 2005 11:41pm

[QUOTE]Originally posted by ahudgins21
A player has the ball in bare hand, tags a runner off the base with glove. Out or safe?

Safe

Please clarify.

Safe as in not out.

cowbyfan1 Thu Jun 09, 2005 01:09am

Even tho the ball is in the players glove he/she needs to be tagged by the ball.

Tim your right, this is turning into a little league site.

Rich Thu Jun 09, 2005 08:32am

Quote:

Originally posted by cowbyfan1
Even tho the ball is in the players glove he/she needs to be tagged by the ball.

Tim your right, this is turning into a little league site.

Next question. There was a play at first where the fielder tagged the base with his hand rather than his foot. I argued that the runner should've been safe because everyone knows you have to tag the base with your foot. Right?

:)

GarthB Thu Jun 09, 2005 09:38am

Quote:

Originally posted by Rich Fronheiser
Quote:

Originally posted by cowbyfan1
Even tho the ball is in the players glove he/she needs to be tagged by the ball.

Tim your right, this is turning into a little league site.

Next question. There was a play at first where the fielder tagged the base with his hand rather than his foot. I argued that the runner should've been safe because everyone knows you have to tag the base with your foot. Right?

:)

I fear you may be too subtle for this crowd.

ozzy6900 Thu Jun 09, 2005 10:55am

Quote:

Originally posted by Rich Fronheiser
Quote:

Originally posted by cowbyfan1
Even tho the ball is in the players glove he/she needs to be tagged by the ball.

Tim your right, this is turning into a little league site.

Next question. There was a play at first where the fielder tagged the base with his hand rather than his foot. I argued that the runner should've been safe because everyone knows you have to tag the base with your foot. Right?

:)

Alright, wait a minute. So, the Ted Williams shift is on and the ball is hit to F6 (now on the 1st base side of 2nd). If F6 holds the ball and grabs the hand of F4, who then grabs the hand of F3, who grabs F1's hand, who puts his right foot (not the left because that woud be a balk) on 1st, is the batter-runner out?

BlueinLINY Thu Jun 09, 2005 11:58am

C'mon, Ozzy!
 
Ozzy,

Based on your sitch I would have to call the BR safe under the following rules:


BSMLBUM: 8.10(b)(s): In the event of an "infield chain play" (see page 38475), the second fielder in the chain when counting from the left must make a concerted attempt at making a full pirouette prior to coming in contact with the adjoining fielder. If said attempt is not made and/or completed prior to contact with subsequent fielder, the batter-runner shall be declared safe.
Exception: If, in the umpire's judgment, the batter-runner is a particularly slow runner, BOTH middle infielders are required to attempt and/or complete aforementioned piroutte prior to batter-runner touching first base.

(You mentioned no such piroutte attempt or completion in your sitch = SAFE)


Umpires Manual pp 8327-8331: While BU is in A position and the infield opts for the "infield chain play," BU cannot properly call an attempt or completion of a pirouette, this is the PU's call. The BU can only make call on such attempt/completion from the B position. If BU is in C position, it is the responsibility of the FIRST BASE side grandstands to hold up placards similar to the Olympic judges to decide whether either (or both if applicable) infielders attempted and/or completed the pirouette.


Fellas, I really think it's about time we got back to basics and put our noses back in the books. I mean, c'mon, Ozzy, it's right there in black and white *sheesh*

:-)

cowbyfan1 Thu Jun 09, 2005 12:45pm

Re: C'mon, Ozzy!
 
Quote:

Originally posted by BlueinLINY
Ozzy,

Based on your sitch I would have to call the BR safe under the following rules:


BSMLBUM: 8.10(b)(s): In the event of an "infield chain play" (see page 38475), the second fielder in the chain when counting from the left must make a concerted attempt at making a full pirouette prior to coming in contact with the adjoining fielder. If said attempt is not made and/or completed prior to contact with subsequent fielder, the batter-runner shall be declared safe.
Exception: If, in the umpire's judgment, the batter-runner is a particularly slow runner, BOTH middle infielders are required to attempt and/or complete aforementioned piroutte prior to batter-runner touching first base.

(You mentioned no such piroutte attempt or completion in your sitch = SAFE)


Umpires Manual pp 8327-8331: While BU is in A position and the infield opts for the "infield chain play," BU cannot properly call an attempt or completion of a pirouette, this is the PU's call. The BU can only make call on such attempt/completion from the B position. If BU is in C position, it is the responsibility of the FIRST BASE side grandstands to hold up placards similar to the Olympic judges to decide whether either (or both if applicable) infielders attempted and/or completed the pirouette.


Fellas, I really think it's about time we got back to basics and put our noses back in the books. I mean, c'mon, Ozzy, it's right there in black and white *sheesh*

:-)

My 20 month old knew that.. This site is getting way too simplistic for me!!

largeone59 Thu Jun 09, 2005 03:27pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Rich Fronheiser
Quote:

Originally posted by cowbyfan1
Even tho the ball is in the players glove he/she needs to be tagged by the ball.

Tim your right, this is turning into a little league site.

Next question. There was a play at first where the fielder tagged the base with his hand rather than his foot. I argued that the runner should've been safe because everyone knows you have to tag the base with your foot. Right?

:)


Sadly, i've had a coach argue that with me before....

tmp44 Thu Jun 09, 2005 03:38pm

Re: C'mon, Ozzy!
 
Quote:

Originally posted by BlueinLINY
Ozzy,

Based on your sitch I would have to call the BR safe under the following rules:


BSMLBUM: 8.10(b)(s): In the event of an "infield chain play" (see page 38475), the second fielder in the chain when counting from the left must make a concerted attempt at making a full pirouette prior to coming in contact with the adjoining fielder. If said attempt is not made and/or completed prior to contact with subsequent fielder, the batter-runner shall be declared safe.
Exception: If, in the umpire's judgment, the batter-runner is a particularly slow runner, BOTH middle infielders are required to attempt and/or complete aforementioned piroutte prior to batter-runner touching first base.

(You mentioned no such piroutte attempt or completion in your sitch = SAFE)


Umpires Manual pp 8327-8331: While BU is in A position and the infield opts for the "infield chain play," BU cannot properly call an attempt or completion of a pirouette, this is the PU's call. The BU can only make call on such attempt/completion from the B position. If BU is in C position, it is the responsibility of the FIRST BASE side grandstands to hold up placards similar to the Olympic judges to decide whether either (or both if applicable) infielders attempted and/or completed the pirouette.


Fellas, I really think it's about time we got back to basics and put our noses back in the books. I mean, c'mon, Ozzy, it's right there in black and white *sheesh*

:-)

In the words of Tony Kornheiser...CLAASSSICC


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:31am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1