The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 27, 2001, 03:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 252
It seems like, according to FED 8-4-2b, that on a force slide play 2 outs will automatically be called. However, if we use FED 8-4-2g to enforce the penalty for illegal contact(such as an illegal slide) than one out or two outs can be called.
What I am having trouble understanding is that for a force-play situation 8-4-2b says that 2 outs must be called and
8-4-2-g says that 2 outs can be called only if a double play is prevented.

Which rule do we use in a force-play situation- FED 8-4-2b(2 outs) or FED 8-4-2g(umpires judgment)?

Thanks,

Greg

[Edited by Gre144 on Mar 27th, 2001 at 10:27 PM]
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:50am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1