The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 23, 2005, 09:56am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: NeverNeverLand
Posts: 1,037
Re: Re: You sure coach?

Quote:
Originally posted by Dave Hensley
Quote:
Originally posted by thumpferee
Quote:
Originally posted by CoachJM
wisemanj,

No, the correct call would have been to call the BR out for interference. Being in the running lane does not "protect" the runner from hindrance of a fielder's legitimate attempt to catch a batted ball still in flight -whether fair or foul.

JM

Might OBR 7.09 l apply?

When a catcher and batter runner going to first base have contact when the catcher is fielding the ball, there is generally no violation and nothing should be called.
Seeing as how the collision was with F1, the pitcher, and the collision occurred "60% of the way towards 1B" rather than in the area of homeplate, I would say the answer to your question is a resounding "no."

OOPS! F1 not F2. Thanks.

I guess I can't hurry up and delete my post since you quoted my ignorance. Thanks Dave!
__________________
"A picture is worth a thousand words".
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:54pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1