The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 20, 2005, 11:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,057
Send a message via Yahoo to UmpJM
Cool

Jake80,

1. The "in contact" pitcher has feinted to 1B prior to completing a legal disengage. He has balked under 8.05(b). Good call.

2. I've always heard this referred to as a "jump spin" move, but "jump turn" sounds fine to me. When executed properly, the pivot foot does in fact normally land in front of the rubber. I don't think it would be illegal (i.e. a balk) if the pivot foot landed behind the rubber as long as the "free" foot gained "distance and direction" toward 1B. However, this is considered a move "from the rubber", so if the move is to 1B, a throw is required. Landing the pivot foot behind the rubber does not make this a legal disengage.

JM

Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:20am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1