The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Sat May 14, 2005, 08:25pm
Official Forum Member

Last evening I worked my first high school varsity game. I've been umpiring for summer ball for 3 years, did some jr. high games this past fall. However, most of the Jr. High and High School seasons, I'm a student at the university of Illinois without a car, so tough to umpire under those circumstances. I got a call about a month ago though from my old AD from high school who had a guy cancel on him and he needed someone to fill. It was after I finished up school so I said sure. Relatively uneventful 20-8 in 6 innings.

I've been reading as much as I can to try and keep my rules and mechanics knowledge fresh since i only get the opportunity to umpire 3 out of the 12 months of the year. Thanks very much for the insight and knowledge that you all have provided me. Hope all is going well for you all.

-J
Old Sat May 14, 2005, 09:36pm
Official Forum Member

Quote:
Originally posted by U_of_I_Blue
Last evening I worked my first high school varsity game. I've been umpiring for summer ball for 3 years, did some jr. high games this past fall. However, most of the Jr. High and High School seasons, I'm a student at the university of Illinois without a car, so tough to umpire under those circumstances. I got a call about a month ago though from my old AD from high school who had a guy cancel on him and he needed someone to fill. It was after I finished up school so I said sure. Relatively uneventful 20-8 in 6 innings.

I've been reading as much as I can to try and keep my rules and mechanics knowledge fresh since i only get the opportunity to umpire 3 out of the 12 months of the year. Thanks very much for the insight and knowledge that you all have provided me. Hope all is going well for you all.

-J