![]() |
|
|
|||
Dear Yankees Fan:
"so what you are saying, see what happens on the play at second base and then make your call, i dont think so."
Well the NFHS Case Book Seems to disagree with your thought: 7.3.5 Situation A Page 54: With R1 going to third, B2 steps across home plate to hinder F2 who is fielding a ball or throwing to third, or attempting to throw to third. Ruling: If R1 is tagged out despite the hinderence, the interference is ignored, and with less than two outs, the ball remains alive. It R1 is not tagged out , B2 is declared out . . . What we are saying is that the PU would announce, "THAT's INTERFERENCE!" while pointing a the batter. The proper mechanic is then to wait until the play is completed at whatever base the ball is thrown DIRECTLY to . . . If that runner is retired then there is no interference. If, by chance, the pitch was a third strike then you could have the BATTER out. There is no automatic double play on batter's interference on a throw by the catcher. "you cant make up your own rules" I just don't understand how someone can be so wrong yet make statements such as this. It is saddening. "there is a case book play that describes this exact play, the batter and runner could be out." Just reference the play and we can all learn something today. I just read all the 2005 Case Book plays and your example is simply not there. Please enlighten me . . . please. Just quote one reference in NCAA, OBR or Federation books that supports your position. We're waiting . . . 05.11.05 We're STILL waiting . . . [Edited by Tim C on May 11th, 2005 at 05:53 PM] |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|