The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Sat May 07, 2005, 04:08pm
Official Forum Member

I'm still fairly new at this and I have two questions I'd like the forum's advice on.
First, when I'm in A what fly balls do I REALLY go out on? (I know the mechanic is the curving ball toward the line and the circus-catch. But in real life which ones do I really want to go out on?) Same, in B and C - do I want to go out to the close flies in center or rely on PU who in pre-game said he'd cover those.
Second, on the ball beat into the dirt if BR is inside the baseline do I ring him up if the catcher or pitcher has to throw over him and it gets past the first baseman, or do I make the fielder actually have to hit BR to get the baseline call?
THANKS!
Old Sat May 07, 2005, 04:19pm
Official Forum Member

You'll get different answers. Here is the one our association has settled on.

On a fly ball to anywhere right of dead center, we take a read step, read the ball and equally importantly, read the fielders. If a fair/foul decision will be needed, if a home run/ground double question may arise, or if the fielder(s) is/are having to scramble forwards, backwards or toward the RF fouline, we go out.

Only when the fielder can easily settle in under the ball do we go in and pivot.

[Edited by GarthB on May 7th, 2005 at 06:10 PM]
Old Sat May 07, 2005, 05:08pm
Official Forum Member

Quote:
Originally posted by rickfriedmann
Same, in B and C - do I want to go out to the close flies in center or rely on PU who in pre-game said he'd cover those.
THANKS!