The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 29, 2005, 11:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 842
Send a message via AIM to cowbyfan1 Send a message via Yahoo to cowbyfan1
Quote:
Originally posted by ozzy6900
Quote:
Originally posted by CoachJM
ozzy & TwoBits,

Being the foolhardy coach that I am, I'm going to go way out on a limb and appeal your misapplication of the rules in failing to call the "skunk" out for offensive interference (after having my request for "time" granted, of course).

I believe you have misapplied Rule 2.0 Interference (a) Offensive Interference; Rule 6.08(d); Rule 7.08(b); and Rule 7.09(m).

That is, you have failed to call out the runner who interfered with the defense's opportunity to make a play on a batted ball by coming into contact with that ball while he is in fair territory.

You are misinterpreting the 7.09(m) exception because it only applies when the runner is immediately behind a fielder that the batted ball has gone "through or by" - this is clearly no the case here, regardless of whether the ball came within a "step and a reach" of F4 or passed between his legs.

Of course, the 6.08(d) exception only applies to the umpire, not the runner.

I presume you will correct your ruling by calling the runner out, awarding the batter 1B and returning any other runners to their TOP base. Yes?

Thank you for your consideration of my appeal.

JM
What drugs are you guys on and will you share them with the rest of us? I am not even going to argue this, coach. I have nothing to call this runner out with, he is behind the infielders and there is no rule that says he can't be there. He did not interfere, the ball hit something and was deflected. You are incorrect with YOUR application of the rules. I respectfully deny your appeal, let's get back to the game, coach.
I'm with Ozzy on this one I would say. It is hard to say since the situation is weak at best. The ball went past F4, well did he have a chance to field it?? It also passes F3, did he have a chance to field it?? The ball deflected into the runner so it seems to me the deflection caused F9 to not be able to field it, not the runner, that's if F9 was in actual position to field the ball.
__________________
Jim

Need an out, get an out. Need a run, balk it in.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:15pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1