The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 2 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old Tue Apr 26, 2005, 11:10am
Official Forum Member

I'm a new manager/coach for a team of 9/10 year olds. We play in a league in St. Louis that plays pretty much by major league rules. I'm new to the intricacies of baseball and would appreciate any help or opinions with respect to balks, pickoffs, pitcher footwork, and such.

I am trying to figure out how to coach my (all RH) pitchers on pickoff moves and have some confusion about what is the best thing to teach them. I want to teach them a move that is both legal and effective.

One point of confusion that I have is that the way I read the official rules of baseball, the only way to disengage the rubber from the set (aka stretch) position is to step backwards off the rubber with your pivot foot. As a result, the move I have been teaching my guys is to step backwards off the rubber with their pivot foot and land with the toes of the pivot foot facing home and the heel of the pivot foot facing second. They then pick up their front foot and swing it around, step, and plant it with their toes pointing to first. I believe this is a legal pickoff move given the way I read the rules. I also like it because it ensures that their shoulders and hips point to the target when they throw.

However, when I went to a Cardinals game the other day, I saw that the major league RH pitchers used a much simpler (and faster) move that looks illegal, given the way I read the rules of MLB. When set, they would pivot on the heel of their pivot foot and leave the heel in place and swing the toes of their pivot foot around so that they faced home plate (rather than third). They would then step with their left foot toward first and throw.