View Single Post
Old Tue Apr 26, 2005, 11:22pm
Official Forum Member

Send a message via Yahoo to UmpJM
Wink

painguy,

I'm starting to understand your choice of username....

I applaud the fact that you are actually bothering to read the rules. This is important. In many cases, they're a little complicated. Also, in many cases they are ambiguous, occasionally they are contradictory, and they don't always mean what they literally say. Although I'm a coach, this I am not making up.

First, nobody (other than little kids who are learning and haven't yet been taught properly) actually pitches with their foot on the pitcher's plate. Most pitchers pitching from the windup start with (at least) their pivot foot on the rubber and then, as they take the "rocker step", shifting their weight on to their "free" foot, "pivot" their pivot foot from "toes to home" to "toes to 3B" (RHP) as they step immediately in front of the rubber into the slight "trench" that is there (or the "deep hole" found on many youth diamond mounds). Although this "step" with the pivot foot might seem illegal by a "literal" read of the rules ("...He shall not raise either foot from the ground, except that in his actual delivery of the ball to the batter, he may take one step backward, and one step forward with his free foot. ..."), as long as the pitcher is merely "clearing his cleats" to pivot, it's fine. That's how its done.

Now, when pitching from the "Set" position, everyone starts with their pivot foot "...in front of, and (at least close to) in contact with..." the rubber.