The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 24, 2005, 12:08am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 1,718
Re: Catcher's Interference?

Quote:
Originally posted by harmbu
This happened in the Junior High game under FED rules. After a pitch crosses the plate, the batter swings and hits the catcher's mit. The only thing is that the catcher had already caught the ball when the contact was made with the mit. Catcher's interference was not called and the umpire explained that he cannot call interference when the ball is already in the glove. I have no reason to disbelieve him, but I cannot find it anywhere in the rule book or case book.

Anybody have any answers with rule references?

Thanks
1..In FED, it's catcher's obstruction, not interference.

2..In order to have catcher's obstruction against a batter, he has to prevent/hinder the batter's attempt to hit the pitch. If the ball is already in the catcher's mitt, there has been no hinderance.

(A)..Look up the definition of obstruction.

3..If a runner was attempting to advance, now there is batter's interference.

Bob
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:58pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1