![]() |
Last night's FED game. Coach had 11 players. They were smearing the other team 27-1. Both players on the bench were original starters. In the top of the second inning I warned the coach about one of his players throwing the bat. The same player came up in the 3rd and threw his bat again, catching the other team's catcher across the knees. I waited till the play was over (he ended up on first) and then calmly walked down to the coach and explained that the player was restricted to the dugout for the remainder of the game.
Now the question was, who was going to take the runner's place at first? Both people on the bench were locked into other batting positions. I vaguely remember an "exceptional substitution" rule which allows another player already in the lineup to return in a different spot if an injury or disqualification takes place, and no other players are available...but I can't find it now in the rule book. Maybe I'm looking in the wrong places, or maybe I'm all wet. I told my partner that if that rule's not in there, I'll eat my hat. Do I have some high fiber coming???? |
The guy who batted before the guy who threw the bat can come out and run for him.
|
Quote:
|
LDUB
I have never, ever heard of this being a National rule.
Please help me document this so I can yet again expand my knowledge of the FED rules I flat don't know. If this is a rule, why does FED have the specific rule that speaks to starting with nine players but being able to play with eight? |
Re: LDUB
Quote:
|
Re: Re: LDUB
Quote:
4-4-1f, note 1. Thanks David |
Re: Re: Re: LDUB
Quote:
|
Sooo,
What I just learned:
It is MY state that disallows this practice. Again, I am humbled about my lack of knowledge of the ONLY rule set I use each season. I guess I need (like Bob) to carry my books to work each day. OR at least learn the rules!!!!! |
So,
The correct call is that the most recent "out" becomes the runner, and there is an "automatic out" each time the restricted player comes to bat in future innings...Correct? MMMMMMMMMMM, this hat isnt so bad...pass the catsup please! |
Tim
What do you take with your hat?
|
I want to know how to eject or restrict a player for throwing his bat in FED. I thought that this was a local rule from some LL field!
|
Quote:
|
Ozzy
While it is a LL "type" rule actually there are two references in FED. 1) for intentionally throwing a bat or helmet and 2) carelessly throwing a bat.
While no "real" umpire would call anything concerned with this in a FED game an UMPIRE COULD stretch things to do it if he wanted. |
Quote:
I've used both in my career (once each, iirc). |
Quote:
|
Re: Ozzy
Quote:
|
Re: Re: Ozzy
Quote:
You don't need to rip Tee because he disagreed with you in another thread. Not everyone volunteers at the local LL 4 nights a week. Secondly, it is not Tee's fault that you are in a bad mood. You noticed that some people on this board don't look kindly upon LL. What did you expect them to say to you when you profess your love for LL, and ask why others don't have the same feelings as you? |
Quote:
The thinking was that since an ejection in many states carries an additional suspension penalty, the rules should allow for a substitution mistake (always the coach's fault) to be penalized to a lesser degree. BTW: Your job was made easier because the <i>same</i> player carelessly threw the bat. The penalty would have kicked in regardless of who on that team threw the bat. |
Re: Re: Re: Ozzy
Quote:
Secondly, what makes a paid umpire better than a volunteer one? "real" umpire? gimme a break! Lastly, when did I "confess my love for LL"? |
Re: Ozzy
Quote:
|
ChapJim
I have never, nor can I picture a time in the future, that I would concern myself with this ruling.
I guess my "judgment" would be the key issue. I have never "judged" that a bat was thrown "carelessly". Have great games! |
Re: ChapJim
Quote:
|
Re: ChapJim
If the catcher or I get hit with a bat, notice I said hit not rolled on the ground or bounced weakly and made contact, a warning would be issued. If I get hit with a bat twice, well,....
The batter is responsible for controlling his bat after a swing. Quote:
|
"Instead, you judge that the batter did this __________."
Accidentially. "If the catcher or I get hit with a bat, notice I said hit not rolled on the ground or bounced weakly and made contact, a warning would be issued. If I get hit with a bat twice, well,.... The batter is responsible for controlling his bat after a swing." And I think I must have a different view of the game than you. Not right or wrong . . . just different. When working big boy ball I have never considered even warning for this issue. |
Not speaking for Tim, of course, but I suspect that he reads "carelessly" to mean something more and different from "accidentally" and "inadvertently", or even "forgetfully" and "stupidly". With this I agree.
Also, like him, I have never, in my judgment, seen a bat thrown "carelessly" on a 90' field: LL a different matter. Where we, perhaps, disagree, is that I can IMAGINE a situation in which I would be required to consider imposing consequenses for a carelessly thrown bat; if I saw it, I believe I'd call it. It just hasn't happened yet [14 years]; and I doubt that it ever will happen; but you never know, sh!t happens. |
Quote:
|
Well,
Of course.
|
Re: Well,
And you didn't warn anybody... Hummmmm...
Okay, I guess we just disagree... Quote:
|
Quote:
First, some history: The NFHS adopted this rule in 1987. Here's the rationale and the two casebook plays offered us that year: <b>Rule 3-3-1a: A Team Warning Shall Be Issued for a Carelessly Thrown Bat</b>. The rule is designed to prevent injury caused by a player, coach, substitute or attendant manager, statistician, batboy, batgirl or trainer who carelessly throws a bat. The rule applies to the team at bat or the defensive team, depending upon who commits the infraction. If the umpire judges a player to have carelessly thrown a bat, the umpire shall issue a team warning to the head coach of that player's team which shall result in the next offender on that team being ejected. <b>Play 1:</b> With Team B at bat (a) B1 receives ball four and on his way to first base, B1 carelessly flips the bat toward his bench almost hitting the on-deck batter, or (b) after hitting a ground ball to F5, B1 flips the bat behind him as he begins his advance to first base and the bat strikes F2, or (c) Fl, while backing up home plate picks up a bat and tosses it out of the way, but in doing so almost hits the plate umpire. <b>Ruling:</b> In (a), (b) and (c) the umpire <b>must</b> [my emphasis] issue a team warning to the head coach of the player committing the infraction. <b>Play 2:</b> During the third inning, B1 carelessly throws a bat, which results in the umpire issuing a team warning. In the seventh inning the pitcher from the team having received the team warning carelessly throws a bat that nearly hits the bat boy. <b>Ruling:</b> The umpire <b>shall</b> [my emphasis] eject the pitcher since his team had been warned previously. Play 1, now styled 3.3.1 SITUATION Q, still exists in the casebook. Play 2 disappeared in 1990. Those plays amply illustrate the FED definition of "carelessly thrown." CB: It is disingenuous to claim you're never seen a batter throw a bat that hit the catcher - or you. In a tape called "Do's, Don'ts, and You'd Betters" (Referee Enterprises, 1989) I said that anyone who fails to enforce <i>every safety rule</i> had better have deep pockets. I was on a high school field in 1991 when the batter carelessly threw his bat and hit the on-deck batter, sending him to the hospital with teeth missing and lacerated lips. After the assistant coach left with the injured player, I issued a team warning. "You're kidding, right?" was the coach's reaction. My reply: "After that incident, I couldn't be more serious." I find it both amusing and harrowing that an umpire will to his dying breath enforce the "<i>both-hands-moving-in-the-windup-means-the-start-of-a-pitch</i>" rule and yet ignore the far more serious infraction of careless bat throwing. I have five or six team warnings a season. Last year, I ejected one player, whose teammate had been the first to carelessly throw the bat. The coach declared that was hard cheese - or words to that effect. Tee: After your epiphany on the road to Indianapolis, how can you not embrace this rule? CB: The <i>American Heritage Dictionary</i> lists "inadvertent" as a synonym of "careless." |
Quote:
Did you forget to read ALL of the last paragraph of my post? I was not kidding, nor being cute with language: I have never seen a "carelessly" thrown bat on the 90' field. If I saw it, I believe I would call it [as I posted]. I have made the call on a small-ball field. I have seen INTENTIONALLY thrown bats [& other items]; and have imposed the prescribed sanction. I have seen ACCIDENTALLY released bats, for which the rules prescribe no penalty or warning. I have even seen what I would characterise as INADVERTENTLY thrown bats, which neither caused nor threatened harm to anyone. Just lucky, I guess. [Edited by cbfoulds on Apr 24th, 2005 at 06:34 PM] |
Quote:
Frankly, I don't believe that's never occurred if you've called as many as five games played under NFHS rules. I take it you're an attorney. The Law may distinguish between "inadvertent" and "careless," but people sensitive to language do not. The FED does not. You're simply </b>quibbling</b> over the definition. "Inadvertent" and "careless" both signify this statement: "I didn't mean to do it, but it was my fault." That's the difference between "careless" and "accidental." A bat that hits someone on a FED field is either: (a) carelessly thrown; or (b) deliberately thrown. Those are the only two possibilities defined in their rules. What is so hard about that? I'll answer that question: You'd rather not stir the sleeping giant known as "the coach who gets the warning." If you get sued because you didn't enforce a safety rule, hire another attorney. You know the old saying.... |
Quote:
Maybe your medication needs adjusting .....? Let ME try this once more.... I have NEVER seen a big-kid catcher hit by a "carelessly" THROWN bat in one of my games. I am not kidding. Maybe my local kids are better coached?... or maybe: "Just lucky, I guess." I have seen some where the B hit 'em on the backswing with the bat still in hand; according to you [in the quoted post - I'm not convinced you really meant that] this is either carelessly or intentionally thrown; but I just don't see that, as the bat never left the hand. I have seen B release the bat, which rebounded from the ground and made incidental contact w/ F2 [or me], but since B has to let go of the bat somehow, and gravity being pretty much non-optional where I work, I did not judge that these bats were "thrown" either, much less carelessly. You wrote: "Inadvertent" and "careless" both signify this statement: "I didn't mean to do it, but it was my fault." That's the difference between "careless" and "accidental." Now, honestly, I'm not altogether sure what you intended to express here, but I take it you recognise a distinction between "careless" and "accidental". Good, I do too. Does the FED, do you think? I think so, although they don't explicitly define or "sanction" accidental occurences. 'Course, as we know from other discussions, not everything permitted [or at least tolerated] under the rules is explicitly listed or described in the rules. In fact, the existence of the two kinds of illegal bat-throwing suggests that there is a third, unclassified category, namely that which is legal. O/W we would not bother to penalize "careless" acts: we'd just say that ANY throwing of the bat is illegal. Let's try a couple not-so hypotheticals; I'm willing to be convinced. Maybe my judgment has been wrong: it's happened before. 1) B swings mightily & the bat accidentally slips from his hand, flying 20 feet into the infield toward the C position [& thus not coming close to hitting anyone]: is this a "carelessly" thrown bat? 2) On-deck batter picks up his predecessor's stick and tosses it toward the corner of fence and dugout, after making sure that there is no-one in the vicinity: is this "careless", or more likely, an "intentionally" thrown bat? 3) B walks, and on his way toward 1stB, releases his bat, not merely to the force of gravity, but with a slight lateral impetus, which causes it to "fly" 5 ft, and then roll 10 more, coming into the path of and incidental contact with [but causing no harm to] the next batter, advancing to the plate, who sees it and returns it to the dugout [we'll pass for the moment, on whether he uses the proceedure in 2, above]. As you understand the wishes of the FED folk, are we to issue a warning, or eject upon the second occurance, for that? |
Originally posted by cbfoulds
[B][QUOTE]Maybe your medication needs adjusting .....? Let's try a couple not-so hypotheticals; I'm willing to be convinced. Maybe my judgment has been wrong: it's happened before. 1) B swings mightily & the bat accidentally slips from his hand, flying 20 feet into the infield toward the C position [& thus not coming close to hitting anyone]: is this a "carelessly" thrown bat?</quote></b> Yes. It's a thrown bat, and it wasn't deliberate. <quote><b>2) On-deck batter picks up his predecessor's stick and tosses it toward the corner of fence and dugout, after making sure that there is no-one in the vicinity: is this "careless", or more likely, an "intentionally" thrown bat?</quote></b> No. It's not a deliberately thrown piece of equipment unless it's to register disgust or disapproval of the umpire or himself. You need to familiarize yourself with the genesis of the rule and the FED explanation of it. <quote><b>3) B walks, and on his way toward 1stB, releases his bat, not merely to the force of gravity, but with a slight lateral impetus, which causes it to "fly" 5 ft, and then roll 10 more, coming into the path of and incidental contact with [but causing no harm to] the next batter, advancing to the plate, who sees it and returns it to the dugout [we'll pass for the moment, on whether he uses the proceedure in 2, above]. As you understand the wishes of the FED folk, are we to issue a warning, or eject upon the second occurance, for that?</quote></b> You can go on and on all you want. You cannot escape the simple language of 3-3-1. You and I both know you understand the FED definition of "carelessly thrown." BTW: Concerning the "medications" crack. Why would you feel the need to stoop to a personal attack? I'll simply ignore your posts in the future. That way, I know you won't get a chance to insult me rather than debate my argument. |
Well, Carl, the "meds" crack was 'cause you have seemed unusually eager to pick a fight recently; and cause your 6:46 [i think it was] post seemed rather disorganised, self-contradictory, and sputtering: not up to your usual [past] standard; esp. the "I don't believe ...", and the "difference between careless & accidental ..." part(s). I was making a smart-a$$ crack: maybe mine need adjusting first ....
And, I have to admit, that if you are right about my #1, and if #'s 2 & 3 are also prohibited by the rule, then I DON'T understand the FED rule about "careless" bat throwing. I also noticed that you didn't really answer my questions about #'s 2 & 3: #2 is not intentional because not a form of protest - I buy that - is it therefore to be sanctioned as "careless"? And is #3 a "carelessly thrown" bat? I had not thought so, but I freely admit I may not understand what the FED honchos want. My reading of the case plays has caused me to "understand" that what is being prohibited is where there is an actual risk of harm, "carelessly" ignored: not true accidents or incidental contacts; much less harmless, nay "careful" throwings, such as described in my #2. But I could be wrong. I will say that, before today, I have never heard of anyone enforcing the "careless bat throwing" prohibition in the circumstances I posited in my 3 examples. |
Quote:
IMO, the "careless" throwing rule carries an implication of not looking / not caring where the bat goes and releasing it in a manner that could cause harm had someone been in the way. Also IMO, the "intentional" throwing rule carries an implication of "throwing in anger" . There is, as you point out a third category -- an "intentional, but careful, tossing" of the bat. That's your second and third plays, and no penalty is needed. You won't find any of those words in the rules, and I'm sure we could find plays where the words don't apply, but the rules do. Still, I've found it to be a useful way of interpreting the rule. For the record, I've tossed one kid in my career for a second "careless" throw. I've tossed one kid for an "intentional" throw. And, I've warned teams less than a handful for a "careless" throw without a second such throw occurring. The last of these warnings happened about a week ago. |
Think about how many times bats end up three to five feet up the third base line that the catcher is always moving because of an impending play. Don't most batters drop a bat at or near home plate, or carry the bat a few steps while running to 1st and then drop the bat, or give the bat a casual flip as they run to 1st? Wouldn't all of that suggest careful attempts to rid the batter of his bat? If that is agreed, than couldn't one presume that a bat that landed 20 feet in the infield ( which any careful batter would not allow to happen )was carelessly allowed to arrive there? IMHO most batters are careful with where their bats end up. When a bat hits a catcher or ends up 20 feet into the infield - that is carelessness.
Just my humble opinion. [Edited by officialtony on Apr 25th, 2005 at 08:21 AM] |
[/B][/QUOTE]
1) B swings mightily & the bat accidentally slips from his hand, flying 20 feet into the infield toward the C position [& thus not coming close to hitting anyone]: is this a "carelessly" thrown bat? 2) On-deck batter picks up his predecessor's stick and tosses it toward the corner of fence and dugout, after making sure that there is no-one in the vicinity: is this "careless", or more likely, an "intentionally" thrown bat? 3) B walks, and on his way toward 1stB, releases his bat, not merely to the force of gravity, but with a slight lateral impetus, which causes it to "fly" 5 ft, and then roll 10 more, coming into the path of and incidental contact with [but causing no harm to] the next batter, advancing to the plate, who sees it and returns it to the dugout [we'll pass for the moment, on whether he uses the proceedure in 2, above]. As you understand the wishes of the FED folk, are we to issue a warning, or eject upon the second occurance, for that? [/B][/QUOTE] Okay I covered 1. It's carelessly thrown. If he were being careful he would not have let it " accidentally " land 20 feet in the infield. 2. Since you said he tossed it towards the corner of the fence and the dugout, he must have carefully and with intent sent it there, thereby removing carelessnes as an option. You said it in your statemtnt - " he tossed it towards . . " - intent, with care IMHO. 3.Here again he allows the bat to go towards his own dugout, by his choice. He didn't carelessly toss it not being concerned with where it went. He was sure it went towards his dugout ( assuming the on-deck batter was near his own dugout )causing the belief that care was taken not to throw it " with a slight lateral impetus " towards his opponents dugout, or anywhere else other than his own dugout area. What are you really looking for here? Careless should be the easiest judgment call you would have to make and the easiset to enforce. Who will argue with a decision that the thrown bat was a jeopardy to the individual it hit or landed closest to? I don't understand your reluctance to make this call. |
<b>"Let me try once more: If you have seen a batter release a bat that then hit the catcher, according to the FED that is a carelessly thrown bat.
Frankly, I don't believe that's never occurred if you've called as many as five games played under NFHS rules. "</b> Wow. I've worked 28 FED games so far this season and haven't had this happen yet. It's hard to imagine it should happen in just five games. |
Common sense and fair play, tradition and past practice are all buzz words that we see often when we discuss how rules are meant to be played.
Since we have more unofficial sources (JEA, J/R and the BRD) for OBR than official sources (NAPL Manual) it is sometimes quite complicated to explain to anyone the whys of how rules can (should) be called. In FEDlandia we have the Rule Book, Case Book, Website Interpretations and the Spring update brochure that comes out each year. But the issue still comes to the front that there will always be two types of umpires: Spirit of the Rules, Intent of the Rules, Advantage/Disadvantage, Tradition and Past Practice umpires and, "Letter of the Rule" guys. See I have been, found out . . . My friend Rich Fronheiser put together enough of my ramblings that he finally recognized that I had portrayed myself as being (all-of-the-sudden)a Letter of the Rules Guy. He called B/S. He is correct,as is Carl who has now also discovered my act. I have tried (adamantly) to support FEDlandia rules on this webpage and others. I have almost acted like a drink the koolaid supporter of those rules. Rich figured it out. Not that I was faking but as a Rules Instructor in my FED Association it would be darned hard to teach one way and do another. I tried to make the switch. It didnt work . . . So I asked myself an HHH type question: When I work a game how do I REALLY call a game under Federation Rules? OK, (placing all the my fingers on all the pads for the Lie Detector Machine): Gorilla Arm? No, I try to preventive officiate it but if that fails would not call a balk under any sequence of events happening solely with that arm. I called it once this spring and it did not help the game at all. Technical Balks (Illegal Pitches)? Nope. These would included, but not be limited to, stepping off the pitchers plate with the incorrect foot, start-stop of a wind-up with no one on, failing to pause when pitching from the set with no one on, moving the glove to ask for new signs with runners on base, and lifting both hands from the sides to the chest at the start of a wind-up and a few others. Again, as Cece Carlucci states, "I only call balks that everyone sees!" Penalty Strike? Nope. If I cannot communicate well enough with a hitter to keep him in the box then I arm a poor umpire and dont need false penalties. Coaches in coaching boxes? Youre kidding , right? Catchers setting up outside the lines of the catchers box? See answer directly above. Calling the FEDlandia strike zone? As I have posted elsewhere, my strike zone represents an EGG that is restricted by a line under the letters of a normally worn uniform on top, by a line formed at the bottom of the knee, and the width established as 22 wide. Coaches Uniforms? There seems to be enough leeway that unless the coach is in a Tutu I can probably answer this any way I want. We have ONE coach in our area that has been allowed to wear sweat pants. And now we have the deadly throwing the bat thingy. Cant remember the last time I was hit by a bat (I do remember somewhere back in the 80s that the same hitter flung I love that term his bat in three straight at bats . . . I handled that with three straight FYCs during his last at bat as the catcher explained to the hitter that at least this time the hitter wouldnt have a chance to kill anyone) but iffin it happens this season I will certainly remember this thread. If you combine the "real" how to the way I umpire and include my sometimes over active ego you might begin to understand how I "think" games should be umpired. Again, y'all have the same right to work games in your style that I demand . . . I just know what works for me. I guess I have rambled on long enough. ++++++++++++++ As to definitions: I believe that "careless" and "inadvertant" are rooted the same but have vastly different meanings. It is similar to "fortunate" and "fortuitous" . . . while they both are rooted in "lucky" they have vastly different meanings. [Edited by Tim C on Apr 25th, 2005 at 11:17 AM] |
Quote:
Instead of this kind of reply, say something of substance for a change. What's your opinion of this rule? Have <i>you</i> seem a carelessly thrown bat on a 90-foot field? Do you agree that "inadvertent" and "careless" mean approximately the same thing? I invite anyone to read your posts collectively. That person will agree that you're more interested in a smart remark than a sound exposition. Why not emulate Bob Jenkins instead of Steve Freix? |
I guess my point is, Carl, that you seem to be exaggerating in an attempt to put CBFoulds down. If your argument is strong enough, that shouldn't be necessary.
This topic, as many others, has been beat to death. Do your really need a "me too" post for either side at this point? Okay...Me, Too. I have no intention of getting into a p!ssing contest with you today, so, here: You win. I'm wrong. I'll not post in this thread again. You may have the last word, completely response free. Go for it. Edited to add: Oh, let me know if my post in the "timing play" thread isn't up to officialbore'm standards. I'll delete it immediately if it isn't. Thanks. [Edited by GarthB on Apr 25th, 2005 at 11:24 AM] |
tim,
that was a very honest reply. Most of us appreciate that type of honesty. |
Thanks, Bob & tony.
I'll be thinking more about my response to the circumstances in my #1: I'll let you know next time it happens what I saw & what I did. I really am not reluctant to make the call, IF I SEE a "careless" act. I wasn't kidding: except for [arguably] poor judgment about what I have previously considered accidental/ inadvertent releases, I have NEVER seen a 90' base instance of "careless" bat throwing [presuming that incidents similar to #'s 2 & 3 aren't "careless"]. "Just lucky, I guess." |
Quote:
They are <i>not</i> rooted the same. They simply signify the same to speakers of English. Why not go googling on the words instead of speaking outside your area of expertise? |
That's what I thought>
Quote:
That's why guys like yourself get called to do the games where there might be a problem, or a big rivalry or etc., You know how to apply the rules, and you know how to do it without the coaches interfering. Thrown bats, I had two of them in a playoff game Saturday. One hit the catcher as he left the box, the other the batter hit the catcher in the helmet on a follow through swing. F2 backed up as he was too close. Neither needed a warning IMO. Thanks David |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:02am. |