The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 20, 2005, 11:01am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 9
Here's the situation. Bases loaded, 2 outs. Passed 3rd strike. Runner at 3rd takes off for home, tags home before catcher gets to ball. Catcher picks up ball at backstop and throws to 1B. Throw is short, BR makes it to 1st safely. The runner that was originally at 1B is totally confused and is standing halfway between 1B and 2B. The first basemen sees this and throws to 2B for the third out.

My question is: does the run count. And, if it does, why?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 20, 2005, 11:18am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,117
Quote:
Originally posted by ElPanadero
Here's the situation. Bases loaded, 2 outs. Passed 3rd strike. Runner at 3rd takes off for home, tags home before catcher gets to ball. Catcher picks up ball at backstop and throws to 1B. Throw is short, BR makes it to 1st safely. The runner that was originally at 1B is totally confused and is standing halfway between 1B and 2B. The first basemen sees this and throws to 2B for the third out.

My question is: does the run count. And, if it does, why?
The run does not count. R1 was forced from first and was put out before reaching second.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 20, 2005, 11:19am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 1,577
Run cannot score on a force out. (FED 9-1(b))
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 20, 2005, 11:21am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,057
Send a message via Yahoo to UmpJM
ElPanadero,

The run does not score because the third out of the inning was made by a force out on the same "play/pitch" that the runner reached home.

JM
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 20, 2005, 11:38am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 9
Thanks for the clarification. The rule is simple enough, it was just the situation that was confusing. The runner literally scored several seconds BEFORE the out was made.

Anyway, thanks for the info. Great site!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:47pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1