The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Tue Apr 19, 2005, 11:20pm
Official Forum Member

Hi guys im new to this side of the forum..just got my baseball license in IN this year....i was watchin a friend do a game and catcher asks umpire how many outs he tells the catcher two..next batter pops to short right field, second baseman makes the catch and doesnt worry bout lookin around just jogs to the dugout dropping the ball on the way by the mound... in the mean time the runner on third scores...the batting team says there was only one out...umpires get together and determine there was only one out at the time the play began so the catch would only have made two outs....would the runner on third have to go back because of the error of the homeplate umpire telling the catcher two outs or does the run stand and you go from there..

thanks in advance
IURef
Old Wed Apr 20, 2005, 12:24am
Official Forum Member

Quote:
Originally posted by IURef
Hi guys im new to this side of the forum..just got my baseball license in IN this year....i was watchin a friend do a game and catcher asks umpire how many outs he tells the catcher two..next batter pops to short right field, second baseman makes the catch and doesnt worry bout lookin around just jogs to the dugout dropping the ball on the way by the mound... in the mean time the runner on third scores...the batting team says there was only one out...umpires get together and determine there was only one out at the time the play began so the catch would only have made two outs....would the runner on third have to go back because of the error of the homeplate umpire telling the catcher two outs or does the run stand and you go from there..

thanks in advance
IURef