The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   Fed vs. OBR (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/19801-fed-vs-obr.html)

Lapopez Mon Apr 18, 2005 08:16pm

I am pretty well versed in OBR and just OK in FED. The game I was doing tonight was considered PONY and I don't even know if they have their own rules but when in doubt I usually quote OBR and I am usually able to sell it, as I did tonight, to the usually ignorant coaches. There was a pop foul that was caught by F3 clearly in the dugout area, as was defined before the game. I called the batter out. I got some argument but I sold it. I'm pretty sure this is a legal out in OBR but is it in FED? Can someone give me the appropriate citation as well? Thanks.

largeone59 Mon Apr 18, 2005 10:27pm

This is "no catch" in FED. A player must have one foot in live ball territory while making a catch. (2-9-1 CATCH)

DG Mon Apr 18, 2005 10:38pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Lapopez
I am pretty well versed in OBR and just OK in FED. The game I was doing tonight was considered PONY and I don't even know if they have their own rules but when in doubt I usually quote OBR and I am usually able to sell it, as I did tonight, to the usually ignorant coaches. There was a pop foul that was caught by F3 clearly in the dugout area, as was defined before the game. I called the batter out. I got some argument but I sold it. I'm pretty sure this is a legal out in OBR but is it in FED? Can someone give me the appropriate citation as well? Thanks.
In FED, one foot in and one foot out when catch is made is a catch. Citation: 2005 BRD.

Lapopez Wed Apr 20, 2005 02:27pm

Quote:

Originally posted by DG
Quote:

Originally posted by Lapopez
I am pretty well versed in OBR and just OK in FED. The game I was doing tonight was considered PONY and I don't even know if they have their own rules but when in doubt I usually quote OBR and I am usually able to sell it, as I did tonight, to the usually ignorant coaches. There was a pop foul that was caught by F3 clearly in the dugout area, as was defined before the game. I called the batter out. I got some argument but I sold it. I'm pretty sure this is a legal out in OBR but is it in FED? Can someone give me the appropriate citation as well? Thanks.
In FED, one foot in and one foot out when catch is made is a catch. Citation: 2005 BRD.

Is this just a BRD interpretation? I don't read that into the FED definition of "Catch."

JRutledge Wed Apr 20, 2005 02:37pm

All that is required is to have one foot touching the playing area. Or to have your feet last established in the playing area if you are in flight when making a catch. If one foot was touching live ball territory, then this is a catch. If both feet were touching dead ball area, then it was not a catch. It is hard to tell that by your example.

<b>2.9.1 Comment</b>

Peace

mcrowder Wed Apr 20, 2005 03:07pm

Isn't Pony OBR anyway? Not sure - since I don't do Pony.

bluezebra Thu Apr 21, 2005 01:18am

Quote:

Originally posted by Lapopez
I am pretty well versed in OBR and just OK in FED. The game I was doing tonight was considered PONY and I don't even know if they have their own rules but when in doubt I usually quote OBR and I am usually able to sell it, as I did tonight, to the usually ignorant coaches. There was a pop foul that was caught by F3 clearly in the dugout area, as was defined before the game. I called the batter out. I got some argument but I sold it. I'm pretty sure this is a legal out in OBR but is it in FED? Can someone give me the appropriate citation as well? Thanks.
Why do you umpire in a league where you don't know the rules?

Bob

Lapopez Thu Apr 21, 2005 03:45pm

Quote:

Originally posted by JRutledge
All that is required is to have one foot touching the playing area. Or to have your feet last established in the playing area if you are in flight when making a catch. If one foot was touching live ball territory, then this is a catch. If both feet were touching dead ball area, then it was not a catch. It is hard to tell that by your example.

<b>2.9.1 Comment</b>

Peace

Sorry to keep beating it but...I did not see that comment at 2.9.1. Is that "one foot" verbage just accepted practice?

largeone59 Thu Apr 21, 2005 08:03pm

Were you looking at the case book or rule book? Case book plays are marked with dots (2.9.1) and rule references are marked with dashes (2-9-1). J is referring to the case book.

What J stated is in the casebook comment is correct.

Lapopez Fri Apr 22, 2005 11:28am

Quote:

Originally posted by largeone59
Were you looking at the case book or rule book? Case book plays are marked with dots (2.9.1) and rule references are marked with dashes (2-9-1). J is referring to the case book.

What J stated is in the casebook comment is correct.

That was much appreciated. Thanks to you both.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:37am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1