The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 14, 2005, 06:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Jerry City, Ohio
Posts: 394
Lots of answers but none entirely true.

My answer is as follows.

1.In windup position: The start of the pitch is relevant per rule 2-28-3 depending on the position of the pitchers hands.
a) Hands already together: Time of the pitch would be when starts movement to go to the mouth. If he stops and does not deliver the ball without interruption then with no runners it is an illegal pitch so award the batter a ball. If runner, then a balk. Award each runner 1 base.

b) Both hands at side: Ruling is same as (a).
c) One hand front, one hand side. Here the time of the pitch is not until the hands are brought together. If he goes to the mouth after bringing hands together then the ruling is same as (a).

But until the hands are brought together there is no restrictions to arm movement. If he goes to his mouth and distinctly wipes it off he has not violated 6-2-1e. Remember, in this rule the infraction is not going to the mouth, the infraction is applying spit to the ball which in the Sitch does not happen.

Instead it is 6-2-4 which addresses acts by the pitcher considered a balk while he is in contact with the pitchers plate. Going to the mouth is not specifically listed. Possibly we should apply 6-2-4c which references 6-1 and 6-2-1a-e. We have already proved above that 6-2-1 a-e has not been violated therefore the only rule left is 6-1. Reading 6-1 there is no prohibition. Now we are back to the prohibited because not allowed vs the allowed because not prohibited argument I am making in the Gorilla Stance string. That is, the NF allows some things under 6-1 but prohibits others. WE don't know which is which until they tell us. The rules should speak for themselves.

2. In the set position: The time of the pitch does not occur until the hands are brought together then a complete and discernable stop. If pitcher goes to his mouth after the stop then apply (1a) above. If before hands are brought together the answer is the same as during windup in (c) above.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:34am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1