The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 13, 2005, 09:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 42
This was in a game I was watching, not calling, and I've never seen it before. HS varsity game under FED rules.

R1 and R2, 1 out. Batter smokes a deep line drive to left center. Center fielder makes a great play and cathes the ball for out two. R2 tags and goes to third. R1 is heading back to 1st base. BR thinks he burned the outfielders and was running hard the whole time going for a double. R1 is on the inside and the BR makes a wide turn, not seeing his teammate R1 or the catch and heads for second. Relay comes to F6 who turns and fires and throws out BR. BU doesn't realize and calls out BR.

Offensive coach comes comes out saying (correctly) that you can't be out twice. Defensive coach wants interference because F6 could've gone backdoor to get R2 at third but was confused thinking BR was actually R1 tagging up and going for second. What's the call?

Thankfully, I got to talk to PU after the game as I work lots and lots of basketball with him. They determined that all the runners were at their bases and there was no chance for a put-out by F6. Because no runners advanced past where they would've been, there was no interference called and the game continued under protest.

Was the call right? Is this a valid protest if the umpires were wrong?
__________________
A late whistle is a great whistle
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:27pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1