The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 16, 2001, 01:54am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 711
Send a message via ICQ to Jim Porter Send a message via Yahoo to Jim Porter
To You Naysayers:

How would you rule on the following?

R1, no outs. The pitch is delivered, and the catcher securely holds the ball while entirely within the catcher's box. R1 is going nowhere. The batter's late swing carries all the way around and unintentionally contacts the catcher's mitt, sending the ball flying out of the glove and into dead ball territory.

Now, what do you do? Are you guys really telling me that you're going to award bases here?

Yougottabekidding!

Double R Double L and Papa C. are absolutely correct. The described scenario is interference if the ball is securely held by the catcher.

So, you don't believe us, how about some former Pro school rules instructors?

From J/R:

Weak Interference: Return Toss and Backswing:

[...]If a batter contacts the catcher, or his mitt, or the baseball with his backswing, and the catcher has gloved or blocked the pitch, it is interference.[...]
__________________
Jim Porter
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:37pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1