The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 01, 2005, 02:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 335
question on FED test "If a batter interferes with the catcher's attempt to throw out a runner stealing second base on a third strike, the UIC SHALL automatically declare two out -- the batter for striking out and the runner for the batter's interference".

Rule 7-3-5 penalty states that if the pitch is a third strike and in the umpire's judgment interference prevents a possible double play (additional outs), two MAY be ruled out.

Question says shall, rule book says may. Does this make the question false?

It seems to me that shall means you would always do it. If catcher had no chance at throwing out runner, I would think you would declare the batter out (assuming less than two outs) and return the runner to first.

Thoughts??
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:57pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1