The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 24, 2005, 07:37am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 114
Well, then there's also a misprint on #88 from the 2005 Fed test:
"A Balk Will Be Declared When:
88. The Pitcher in the set position, with hands at his side, turns his shoulders in a quick move to look at the runner on first base."

Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 24, 2005, 08:10am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,191
And, then, there's also a misprint on the NFHS web-site. Interp #17 is the same play and indicates the move is legal.

It would be easy for the FED to issue a correction on the web-site -- if the ruling really is an error and not a suggested change for next year. Maybe your (jicecone)state interpreter can get the FED to do so.

Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 24, 2005, 08:55am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 2,716
Quote:
Originally posted by bob jenkins
And, then, there's also a misprint on the NFHS web-site. Interp #17 is the same play and indicates the move is legal.

It would be easy for the FED to issue a correction on the web-site -- if the ruling really is an error and not a suggested change for next year. Maybe your (jicecone)state interpreter can get the FED to do so.

I would like to believe tbat it would most likely be handled this way however, Im just the messenger here, reporting the up to date news.

I personnaly don't know the gentlemen (State Interpretor), but I guess if the entire state enforces one ruling, then it is not all that bad. And for this case I don't believe many here can disagree.
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 24, 2005, 09:17am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 2,729
Hmmm,

Following jicecone's lead I have passed on e-mails to several FED notables.

We know that the rule is referenced THREE times as to the fact that the speed of the shoulders has NO BEARING on the look.

jicecone's state rules interpretor is a noted college umpire. He is NOT however on the National Committee.

We know the case book says the move is legal. We know that the test says it is legal. And we know that the NFHS website "2005 Rules Interpretations" clearly shows it is legal.

Please do not attack jicecone -- he is simply the messenger.

MY STATE INTERPRETOR told us that players had to stay in the dugout after an "over-the-fence" home run.

Just because people are "State Interpretors" it does not make them correct.

He11, last year our same interpretor told GarthB that a pitcher could pick-off from the wind-up position in FED.

Trust me, the shoulder term as written for THIS YEAR is not a missprint.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:48pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1