The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 04, 2005, 09:36am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Robinson, IL
Posts: 266
In the play from the NF casebook this seems to be an accidental appeal. The case was revised, so I am assuming that it has changed. Is this only at first base. This is a missed base, so it is an appeal play, and the manner in which it is described in the case book looks like the "accidental appeal".

My other question is this. In the play from the case book, the fielder touches the base AFTER the runner missed it. What if the fielder catches the ball with his foot touching the base AFTER the runner is past the base, but missed touching the base. This used to be taught as a "safe" call and you wait for the appeal. Now am I supposed to call an immediate out, and treat it as an "accidental appeal"? Also, does this apply at other bases?
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:41am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1