The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Sun Feb 27, 2005, 01:12pm
Official Forum Member

I was just reading Carl Childress' essays about 2-man mechanics and wondered if these have been discussed here and what the opinions were. I am relatively new to umpiring and just looking for different views on the way things are done in different associations.

http://childress.officiating.com/
Old Sun Feb 27, 2005, 02:40pm
Official Forum Member

Quote:
Originally posted by Mike Goble
I was just reading Carl Childress' essays about 2-man mechanics and wondered if these have been discussed here and what the opinions were. I am relatively new to umpiring and just looking for different views on the way things are done in different associations.

http://childress.officiating.com/
Personally, I have never attended any well organized clinics, camps or schools in my quest to become a good baseball official. I would like to think I belong in that category but others may have a different opinion.

When I started, there was not the information available over the internet like now, and you were pretty much on your own to learn as much as possible. I purchased several of Carl's books, read them and then started to try many of his suggestions. I myself, found the books to be down to earth, humorous and most of all helpful. Over the years I have read and studied many other articles and books by Carl and many others. But , bottom line I believe his approach and practical suggestion helped me the most in becoming self taught in the art of officiating baseball. And that applies to me and me alone.