![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
I also agree with DG that we could distinguish between (a) BR continuing to run to 1B after 3 are out, and (b) R returning to a previous base to correct a baserunning error. Both might be motivated by a desire to prevent a 4th out, but that would not mean that both are allowed. In (a) we have a runner FINISHING his task, and in (b) we have a runner CORRECTING his task. One might be allowed after 3 are out and the other not; DG seems to be raising the question of whether allowing (a) entails allowing (b), and I think that the answer is no. I'm inclined to allow (a) but not (b) on the grounds that in (a) the offense has committed no infraction. But it would be good to know whether both are allowed by authoritative rulings. (And Roger, I'm sorry if I'm being dense, but I don't see the relevance to this question of 7.08k, which concerns whether the tag for a missed base must be applied to the base or the player.) I have no problem accepting authority and am glad to learn of an authoritative ruling on the topic. I apologize for not having been on the board in 2001 when the topic came up originally. Thanks! [Edited by mbyron on Jan 30th, 2005 at 08:28 PM]
__________________
Cheers, mb |
Bookmarks |
|
|