The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #17 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 06, 2005, 04:03am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Edinburg, TX
Posts: 1,212
Send a message via ICQ to Carl Childress
Quote:
Originally posted by cowbyfan1
I have one question about all this. Is there not a rule that says if the runner is beyond a base from the original base, that he cannot go back and retouch the original base if the ball goes dead? Is this an exception to the rule?

What about FED (8-2-5)? If due to 8-2-5 he cannot go back and touch first, do you award home in that case? Or give him third? What if he heads back to first anyways, retouches it and then goes to third, do you ignore the retouch because of 8-2-5?
You're right about FED, but the thread, which I began, dealt only with the difference between OBR 7.06(i) CMT 2 and MLBUM 5.10.

In OBR, for a runner to be in peril of an out on appeal, he must advance to and touch a succeeding base AFTER the ball goes dead.

R1 leaves early and is between second and third when the ball goes dead. If he returns to first, he'll get third, no appeal. If he continues and touches third, he is out on appeal.

That's NOT the rule in FED, as you pointed out.
__________________
Papa C
My website
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:19pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1