The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 31, 2004, 09:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 3,100
Not so. He says the same thing in his basic book page 54 Chapter 9-B-A-1 He says a baserunner is vunerable to appeal if he doesn't get within a body length the final time by. This is complete hooey as the "final" time can be the only time.

You can't say he's safe because he was "close enough".


I still think there's a misunderstanding. Rich, how would you call this play?

Abel on 1B, no outs. Baker lines to right center. Abel rounds 2B and is on his way to 3B when F9 catches the ball. Abel then retraces his steps but misses 2B by a step on his way back. As he slides back into 1B, the throw shoots through to DBT. Abel then takes his award by touching 2B and 3B.

Would you uphold an appeal of Abel's miss of 2B while returning (even though he touched 2B last time by)?
__________________
greymule
More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men!
Roll Tide!
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:46pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1