The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 02, 2004, 11:58am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 159
If the runner was on the base how could this be the case?

I did not see this particular play, but how could it happen? Easy.

R3 is standing with his left foot on 2B. The rest of his body is in foul territory. The batted ball strikes him in say, the right leg.

The runner was struck while standing "on the base", but the ball is foul because it struck him on or over foul territory.

added in edit: Yes, I meant 3B. That would be a mighty long legged runner otherwise!

Thanks for catching my gaffe!


[Edited by Atl Blue on Sep 2nd, 2004 at 08:15 PM]
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:52pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1