The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 02, 2004, 11:51am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,643
Quote:
Originally posted by BayouUmp
Under Dixie Boys/Majors (which follows OBR with noted exceptions), rule 8.95 states "Any pitcher being replaced on the mound by another pitcher cannot return to the mound."

Is pinch running considered 'replacement'?

Dixie Major WS yesterday, S. Carolina's pitcher was not allowed to return to the mound after he was pinch-ran for in the preceeding 1/2 inning. S. Carolina protested, but umpires decision was upheld by protest committee...rumblings after the game was that protest committee was wrong.

Thoughts?
I don't have a Dixie rule book, so I might be totaly wrong on this. But I think the that they got this one wrong. The rule says "replaced on the mound for another pitcher." I assume that they don't allowed projected subutitions, so while the team in on offnese, no one may be declared the pitcher. F1 was never replaced on the mound, he just left the game.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:37pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1