The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 17, 2004, 03:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Spring Hill, TN
Posts: 169
R3, less than two outs. I'm PU, BU is behind the mound.
B1 hits a pop-up to the edge of the grass to the left of F4, R3 gambles, tags and scores. Appeal to 3B following the play, I point to BU who was watching the catch. Coach gives me an earful, saying "that's your call".

Since there was a R3, isn't that the BU call? I have to stay at home in case of the play at the plate and besides, no matter how much I move down the line to see if R3 leaves early, I'm never going to see separation between R3 and the bag, certainly if I'm going to be making a call at home.

This wasn't a play where the ball went high enough that the BU could position himself where he could see the catch and the runner. Is this simply a limitation of a 2-man crew?
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:13pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1