The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 14, 2004, 12:03am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 3,236
Quote:
Originally posted by akalsey
I have a person who's insisting to me that a batter should be credited with a double if he is tagged out at third trying to stretch his hit into a triple. His argument is that he legally acquired second base before being tagged out so he should get credit for the double.

I say that's absurd, but I figured I'd gather some proof.

The guy argues with enough conviction and authority that he could probably make me question whether the sky really is blue. But he also thinks the hands are part of the bat.

In a similar sitch, if a runner misses home plate after a home run and is called out on appeal, what does the entry in the scorebook say?
Read Scoring Rule 10.07. The batter gets credit for the last base attained safely.
__________________
Rich Ives
Different does not equate to wrong
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:59pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1