The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 13, 2004, 08:50pm
DG DG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 4,022
Quote:
Originally posted by akalsey
I have a person who's insisting to me that a batter should be credited with a double if he is tagged out at third trying to stretch his hit into a triple. His argument is that he legally acquired second base before being tagged out so he should get credit for the double.

I say that's absurd, but I figured I'd gather some proof.

The guy argues with enough conviction and authority that he could probably make me question whether the sky really is blue. But he also thinks the hands are part of the bat.

In a similar sitch, if a runner misses home plate after a home run and is called out on appeal, what does the entry in the scorebook say?
Double for first question. What's absurd about it? What would you give him in the book, no hit for trying to stretch a double into a triple?

Hands are not part of the bat (yawn)....

Triple for the third question, same logic as first question.

Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:23pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1