The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 05, 2004, 09:52pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,643
Quote:
Originally posted by DG
It is an interesting question and it seems ripe for application of 9.01(c). Given that breakaway bags are designed for a purpose and given that 12 year olds are less aware of the rules that are printed vs. the ones that are not, and that we debate on, I would be inclined to allow the runner to return to the original base location, or it's new location, 5 feet from where it used to be. If we have to debate what is correct, how is a 12 year old supposed to know? Benefit of the doubt goes to the runner in this situation, IMO.
This is a simple question covered under rule 7.08 (C).

APPROVED RULING: (2) If a base is dislodged from its position during a play, any following runner on the same play shall be considered as touching or occupying the base if, in the umpire's judgment, he touches or occupies the point marked by the dislodged bag.

So all the runner has to do is touch the spot where the base would be had it not been dislodged. I don't understand why there is so much debate over this subject.

[Edited by LDUB on Jul 5th, 2004 at 10:54 PM]
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:43pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1