![]() |
Hello,
Runner on second, pitcher in the stretch. F4 feints to second as if a pick-off is on, but drops back to position when R2 shortens his lead. The pitcher, seeing F4's break for second, jump turns to pick - but half way in his jump realizes F4 has returned to position. The pitcher, already committed to throwing, manages to throw to F4 at his normal position 15-20 feet away from second base, so as not to throw it to centerfield. Umpire calls a balk because the pitcher did not pick off to a base. Is this right? Thanks, Jason |
Quote:
|
Strange missed balk call
Quote:
As Rich said, first base is different. Thanks David |
could be the right call
an arguement could be made that this is a balk b/c OBR 8.05c. F1 failed to step directly towards the base. He threw to F4. F4 is not at 2nd Base.
|
Re: could be the right call
Quote:
|
Have yet to see a "base" that can catch a throw.
|
I had something similar in an AAU 10u game. where they play federation rules with slight modification for these ages.
Righthanded F1 has toed the rubber in the stretch, with out stepping or anything he faints a throw to third without the ball in his throwing hand (it is in his glove) plate guy calls a balk stating that he deliberately decieved the runner by the fainted attempt. is this correct? or was he reading too much into the deception? |
QUOTE: "Righthanded F1 has toed the rubber in the stretch, with out stepping or anything he faints a throw to third without the ball in his throwing hand (it is in his glove) plate guy calls a balk stating that he deliberately decieved the runner by the fainted attempt. is this correct?"
---- yes ---- quote: -------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Originally posted by jumpmaster an arguement could be made that this is a balk b/c OBR 8.05c. F1 failed to step directly towards the base. He threw to F4. F4 is not at 2nd Base. -------------------------------------------------------------------------------- You could make that arguement, but it's not the "correct" interpretation. --- what is the correct interpretation? Source, please. |
Quote:
One or more of NAPBL, JEA, J/R, ML Umpires manual contains this. |
Quote:
|
thanks
thanks for the info guys. You have helped me settle an argument in my association. I have said that this is not a balk b/c F1 is not required to throw.
I don't have any of the J/R, PBUC, etc. manuals. Do you have a suggestion of which is a must have and where can I purchase it? It is obvious from this board that these are must have items. |
Re: thanks
Quote:
|
Re: Re: thanks
Quote:
Anyone working OBR games should have the PBUC manual. Anyone working multiple rules would be helped by owning the BRD. |
Re: thanks
You can buy either the PBUC Umpire Manual or the PBUC Manual for the Two Umpire System at Plus POS
Quote:
|
Re: Re: thanks
Quote:
Thanks! |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:09am. |