The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 01, 2004, 01:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 3,100
In Fed, a runner who overruns (or overwalks) 1B on a walk is liable to be put out.

It's not as clear in OBR. The BRD quotes a MLB umpire as saying that the BR is liable to be put out unless there was some reason for him to run hard to 1B. I guess this might mean a pitch getting away from the catcher on ball 4 or something. Or maybe he thinks ball 4 was strike 3 uncaught and runs hard.

Don't have my book with me, so I'm not sure about NCAA. I think the BR can overrun safely on a walk.

Be sure you don't take "turns left" literally. After overrunning 1B, the BR can turn left without making himself liable to be put out, as long as he doesn't make some sort of aggressive move toward 2B.
__________________
greymule
More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men!
Roll Tide!
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:40am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1