![]() |
|
|||
|
The ball, being the subject of the sentence, was what was being referred to as being in foul territory.
He states earlier that the player's foot was in foul territory when hit ("and it hit his foot which BTW, as I said was in FOUL territory,"). I think your right about the ball just being inside on the handle of the bat, usually referred to as running it in on the hands (not meant as hands literally). In that case, if the ball and the player are in foul territory and it hits the player it is a foul ball. If the Umpire saw the ball hit the fielder in foul territory and somehow ruled that a fair ball, he kicked the call. That is one that shouldn't have been missed. Quote:
__________________
Well I am certainly wiser than this man. It is only too likely that neither of us has any knowledge to boast of; but he thinks that he knows something which he does not know, whereas I am quite conscious of my ignorance. At any rate it seems that I am wiser than he is to this small extent, that I do not think that I know what I do not know. ~Socrates |
| Bookmarks |
|
|