The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Sun May 23, 2004, 11:40am
Official Forum Member

I've tried the GD system before, and I agree it does expose one's arms much more than the other stances. There have been many comments here about people not using GD because of getting hit in their arms, and others who wear arm pads for protection.

Now I'm no GD expert, but others here have said to set up 3-4 feet back or one large step back from the catcher.

Quote:
Originally posted by Carl Childress
The salient points of the GD system are: ... (3) standing one long step bahind the catcher;
Quote:
Originally posted by nickrego
You stand 3 – 4 feet behind the catcher with your nose lined up on the inside edge of the plate.
Now correct me if I am wrong, but I was under the impression that the reason umpires wear inside protectors are because they are less bulky which allows you to get close to the catcher.

But with GD, you are standing 3-4 feet back off the catcher. With all this talk about arm protection, why does no one wear an outside protector. With 4 feet there is plenty of room for a balloon to fit in front of you. And it will cover you arms too. I know some will say that it look bad, but then how do you think wearing shin guards on your arms looks? (I have never seen anyone do this so I can not say myself)
Old Sun May 23, 2004, 01:40pm
Official Forum Member