The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #29 (permalink)  
Old Sun May 23, 2004, 09:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Jerry City, Ohio
Posts: 394
Here is my answer: I agree with David B but I will cite the appropriate FED rules that apply.

Resume play with bases loaded and one out.

In my opinion the obstructed runner reached the base I thought he would therefore obstruction is ignores since it did not affect the other runner. Any play on them stands therefore runner is out at home. NO OPTIONS GIVEN TO COACH IN THIS SITUATION.

The question now is to sort out the play and determine if the play stands or I must make an award for the obstruction.

It has already been established that Batter-runner was obstucted (Fed 2.22.1). Obstruction is a delayed dead ball situation (Fed 5.1.2b). When all pay has stopped the umpire shall call time and the ball becomes dead (Fed 5.1.3)


Letting the play stand speaks for itself. (This is my answer and reasons follow).

DownTownTonyBrowne mentioned the two FED rules that may apply to this situation. FED 8.1.1e and FED 8.3.2.

Which applies can be know through some general logic.

Rule 8.1 covers the situation in which the BATTER becomes a baserunner. Fed 8.1.1e says that the BATTER BECOMES A RUNNER when the catcher or any other defensive player obstructs him. What that is saying is he was obstructed as a BATTER and because of such became a baserunner.

Is that why the batter was running on the play in question? NO. He was running because he hit a fair ball (FED 8.1.1a) Therefore, FED 8.3.2 applies.

...the umpire shall award the obstructed runner and each other runner affected by the obstruction the bases they would have reached, IN HIS OPINION, had there been no obstruction.

In this play the obstruction did not hinder any other runner other than the batter-baserunner. In my opinion, given the shallow hit the batter would not have reached any base beyond 1st and when time was called he was AT first.
Since no other runners were affected by the obstruction whatever had happened to them at the point time was called stands.

IN MY OPINION, if this happened in my game since the obstructed runner reached the base I thought he would have reached, then the obstruction is ignored. The out at the plate stands and we resume play with bases loaded and 1 out.

Of course I would have to explain to coach and if the same behavior happened as in the original post then there would have been 3 ejections; The coach, the catcher, and the on-deck batter.









[Edited by Daryl H. Long on May 23rd, 2004 at 10:59 PM]
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:46pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1