The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 18, 2004, 10:01pm
DG DG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 4,022
From 2004 BRD (100)

FED: If a batted ball accidently hits the bat a second time while the batter is still holding the bat and still in the batter's box, the ball is foul.
NCAA: Same as FED.
OBR: Point not covered. OFF INTERP 72-100: Same as FED.

But, you asked a LL question. LL 6.05(g) says the batter is out if the bat hits the ball a second time in fair territory. But this rule does not say whether the bat is still in the hands of the batter who is still in the box. It could have been dropped and makes contact with the ball a second time on the way to the ground. Therefore, this situation appears to me to be not covered by LL, and therefore I would rule FOUL as in FED, NCAA, and OBR (according to OFF INTERP).

Different rulings come when bat is out of hand, or batter is out of box.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:43am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1