The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   rule 6.05(k) (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/13501-rule-6-05-k.html)

The Old Headbanger Mon May 03, 2004 12:39pm

Hi there!

I would like to know how you interpret following line
of rule 6.05(k)
"being fielded to first base"
I ask because my native language is german.

and how would you rule this following situation.

bases loaded 1.out.
batter hits ground ball to short stop, the ss goes to the plate for force, the catcher is then throwing to first to complete the double play, while doing so the throw hits the runner who is not running within the 3-foot-line.

thanks for your help
Herwig
Salzburg/Austria

mcrowder Mon May 03, 2004 02:16pm

This sounds like an out.

TwoBits Mon May 03, 2004 02:20pm

Assuming the batter being hit by the throw from the catcher interfered with the first baseman receiving the ball, I've got R3 out at home, BR out for interference, double play. Furthermore, R1 & R2 must return to first and second, respectively because they cannot advance on runner interference.

Similar play happened in a game I did lastt year with the grounder hit to the pitcher. Offensive coach protested and lost the protest (and his $100 protest fee).

Patrick Szalapski Mon May 03, 2004 02:55pm

Quote:

Originally posted by The Old Headbanger
Hi there!

I would like to know how you interpret following line
of rule 6.05(k)
"being fielded to first base"
I ask because my native language is german.

and how would you rule this following situation.

bases loaded 1.out.
batter hits ground ball to short stop, the ss goes to the plate for force, the catcher is then throwing to first to complete the double play, while doing so the throw hits the runner who is not running within the 3-foot-line.

thanks for your help
Herwig
Salzburg/Austria

You could probably interpret "fielded" to mean "thrown" here. This sentence's wording is somewhat awkward here; "fielded" has a fairly general meaning. "Fielding" is pretty much anything a fielder does.

P-Sz

bob jenkins Tue May 04, 2004 08:26am

Quote:

Originally posted by TwoBits
Assuming the batter being hit by the throw from the catcher interfered with the first baseman receiving the ball, I've got R3 out at home, BR out for interference, double play. Furthermore, R1 & R2 must return to first and second, respectively because they cannot advance on runner interference.

Similar play happened in a game I did lastt year with the grounder hit to the pitcher. Offensive coach protested and lost the protest (and his $100 protest fee).

What about the "intermediate play" ruling from PBUC?


TwoBits Tue May 04, 2004 08:42am

Bob, I'm not familiar with that term. Enlighten me.

bob jenkins Tue May 04, 2004 10:28am

Quote:

Originally posted by TwoBits
Bob, I'm not familiar with that term. Enlighten me.
Probably because I used the wrong term. Here's the section from the book:

4.2 INTERFERENCE WITH INTERVENING PLAY:

Play: Play at the plate on runner attempting to score; runner is called safe.
A following play is made on the batter runner, and he is called out for interference outside the three foot lane.

Ruling: With less than two out, the run scores and batter runner is out. With two out, the run does not count. The reasoning is that an intervening play occurred before the interference. Runners would return to base last legally touched at time of interference. However, with two out, the runner reached home on a play in which the batter runner was out before he reached first base. [Note this clarification to Official Rule 2.00 Interference (a) casebook comment.]


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:29am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1