The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 04, 2004, 12:35am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 1,718
Re: I'd like a reference for that

Quote:
Originally posted by David B
Quote:
Originally posted by bluezebra
In FED, it's not abandonment until the runner reaches dead ball territory. He's not out of the baseline until a play is made on him. The BU goofed.
give reference please. The note that I found in 8-4-2p seems to differ from your statement above.

I see that in reference to a BR but not for any other runner.

Also I found a case play 8.4.2X which states "when R2 began leaving the field, he should be considred as having abandoned his effort to return or advance and shall be declared out."

This states nothing about dead ball territory.

But I might have missed something so if you could provide me the info I'd be thankful.

thanks
David

[Edited by David B on May 3rd, 2004 at 11:45 PM]
8.4.2.p and the NOTE refers to the BR only, not any other runner.

I don't have the 2004 book, and 2003 only goes to "y", not 8.4.2X. As for "when R2 began leaving the field, he should be considred as having abandoned his effort to return or advance and shall be declared out.", we have a difference of opinion. I don't consider a runner still in the infield to have begun leaving the field.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:05pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1