The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   U2 Blown Call (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/13493-u2-blown-call.html)

Rich Tue May 04, 2004 04:07am

Re: Re: I'd like a reference for that
 
Quote:

Originally posted by bluezebra
Quote:

Originally posted by David B
Quote:

Originally posted by bluezebra
In FED, it's not abandonment until the runner reaches dead ball territory. He's not out of the baseline until a play is made on him. The BU goofed.
give reference please. The note that I found in 8-4-2p seems to differ from your statement above.

I see that in reference to a BR but not for any other runner.

Also I found a case play 8.4.2X which states "when R2 began leaving the field, he should be considred as having abandoned his effort to return or advance and shall be declared out."

This states nothing about dead ball territory.

But I might have missed something so if you could provide me the info I'd be thankful.

thanks
David

[Edited by David B on May 3rd, 2004 at 11:45 PM]

8.4.2.p and the NOTE refers to the BR only, not any other runner.

I don't have the 2004 book, and 2003 only goes to "y", not 8.4.2X. As for "when R2 began leaving the field, he should be considred as having abandoned his effort to return or advance and shall be declared out.", we have a difference of opinion. I don't consider a runner still in the infield to have begun leaving the field.

The rule is not "leaving the field" but is "abandoning his position on the basepaths". There's a difference.

David B Tue May 04, 2004 08:30am

Re: Re: I'd like a reference for that
 
Quote:

Originally posted by bluezebra

8.4.2.p and the NOTE refers to the BR only, not any other runner.

I don't have the 2004 book, and 2003 only goes to "y", not 8.4.2X. As for "when R2 began leaving the field, he should be considred as having abandoned his effort to return or advance and shall be declared out.", we have a difference of opinion. I don't consider a runner still in the infield to have begun leaving the field.

8-4-2p does refer to BR, however, the NOTE does not.

Remember this is from the rule book.. 8-4-2 is rule book, 8.4.2 would be case book.

NOTE: <b> any runner, (my emphasis)</b>after touching first base, etc.,

Also this is section 8-4-2 which starts with "any runner is out" when he ...

Also, the case plays are both dealing with plays at second or third base. None of them deal with a BR.

Case play 8.4.2X, (paraphrase the first part) ...R2 and R3 both arrive at second base thinking they are both out. They begin leaving the field.

Ruling: When R2 began leaving the field, he should be considered as having abandoned his effort to return or advance and shall be declared out.

Sure I would give them the benefit of the doubt, but I've not seen a blanket statement from FED that the runner must reach dead ball territory to be considered as having abandoned the base.

FED is pretty clear, and gives the umpire several tools to use in making his judgement in this situation.

Thanks
David


scyguy Tue May 04, 2004 11:56am

8-4-2p NOTE Any runner, after reaching first base, who leaves the baseline heading FOR THE DUGOUT or his defensive position believing that there is no further play, shall be decleared out ....

Case book has one reference 8.4.2 Situation D in (a) runner only heads for the team bench in (b), he leaves the field for the team bench.

BZ, I think waiting until runner is in DBT is a stretch, and would be difficult to defend within the FED rules.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:46am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1