|  | 
| 
 | |||
|   
			
			The dead ball chart in the FED rule book awards a baserunner 1 base for being hit by a pitch.  Can anyone give me a situation where this would REALLY happen?   The only thing I can imagine is if a runner is stealing home and crosses the plate just as the ball does. Would that constitute interference on the baserunner? Would the ump call a ball or strike? Is the ball then dead? How about catcher obstruction? Any other situations where a runner could be struck by a pitch??? | 
| 
 | |||
| 
			
			The case you mention is the one that came to mind immediately.  Without getting out my rulebook I would imagine that the runner is awarded home, and the batter has a ball or strike called on him, depending on what it was, and the ball is dead so no other runners can advance  I also imagine it was most likely a ball, because I can not imagine a runner going in standing up, with a batter in place to swing. At the higher levels the pitcher may also realize the runner is stealing and throw an inside right handed batter) to give the catcher a good chance at the tag. He may even throw so far inside that he hits the runner, before he reaches the plate. This is another one of those situations that I have never seen.    
		 | 
| 
 | |||
| 
			
			So if the pitch is coming in, and it is right down the middle, so it will be a strike.  But the runner slides and hits the pitch before it enters the strike zone.  This would be a ball correct?  Because the ball never entered the strike zone when it was live.
		 | 
| 
 | |||
| Quote: 
 Sounds like we've got neither a strike nor a ball if the pitch doesn't reach the plate. 
				__________________ "Not all heroes have time to pose for sculptors...some still have papers to grade." | 
|  | 
| Bookmarks | 
| 
 |  |