The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 20, 2004, 09:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,643
I've never actually seen this situation come up, I just thought it up a few days ago.

So my FED rule book says 2 bases are given from the time of the pitch, if a infielder throws the ball out of play, on the first throw by an infielder.

It also says that a throw by an outfielder which goes out of play is two bases from the time of the throw.

Here is the situation. Center fielder shifts in and becomes a fifth infielder. R1 is stealing second on the pitch, ball is hit to center fielder, who is playing where the shortstop would normaly stand. F8 looks at second but sees R1 is already sliding into second. R1 touches second before F8 throws to F3. Ball is high over first and goes out of play.

Does R1 get bases from the time of pitch or throw?
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:54am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1