The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   Base Award (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/13311-base-award.html)

LDUB Tue Apr 20, 2004 09:09pm

I've never actually seen this situation come up, I just thought it up a few days ago.

So my FED rule book says 2 bases are given from the time of the pitch, if a infielder throws the ball out of play, on the first throw by an infielder.

It also says that a throw by an outfielder which goes out of play is two bases from the time of the throw.

Here is the situation. Center fielder shifts in and becomes a fifth infielder. R1 is stealing second on the pitch, ball is hit to center fielder, who is playing where the shortstop would normaly stand. F8 looks at second but sees R1 is already sliding into second. R1 touches second before F8 throws to F3. Ball is high over first and goes out of play.

Does R1 get bases from the time of pitch or throw?

DG Tue Apr 20, 2004 09:12pm

The only sensible thing to me, is to consider the center fielder, playing in the SS position, as an infielder. Award from TOP.

LDUB Tue Apr 20, 2004 10:01pm

What if F8 takes his position 10 feet into the outfield grass. Is he an infielder then? Is there some type of cut of line which divides infielders and outfielders?

DG Tue Apr 20, 2004 10:15pm

Hmmm, 10 feet into the outfield grass. Still sounds like an infielder since generally, outfielders are "way out there" even if they are playing in. There is no magic line, umpire's judgement. But really, what's the harm in leaning toward calling F8 an infielder if he is anywhere near the infield? The difference is TOP or TOT. TOP is an advantage to defense, TOT is an advantage to offense. If defense chooses this position for F8 they are doing it to gain an advantage. They should not get another advantage by considering F8 an outfielder no matter where he stands.

In summary, an outfielder playing like an infielder should be considered as such for throwing awards.

zebracz Wed Apr 21, 2004 06:21am

Hey ya'll...good work this season so far, right?

But, whether an fielder is in the outfield or the infield makes NO difference as to where and when the base awards are given. Also, in your post, you asked in your situation whether R1 gets bases awarded from the time of the pitch or the throw?

It's from the throw. If he had already touched the two-bagger, and then F6 (or F8) throws the ball out of play and over first, then R1 gets HOME!


...and I believe that your quote of FED rules: ("So my FED rule book says 2 bases are given from the time of the pitch, if a infielder throws the ball out of play, on the first throw by an infielder.") seems to be wrong.

It's from the time of the throw.

Have a nice day, ya'll...



blueump Wed Apr 21, 2004 07:34am

Quote is correct from FED.
 
The quote is correct. The award is where the baserunners were at the time of the PITCH if the ball is thrown out of play by an infielder on the first play attempt on the infield. Not the time of the throw.

So....Even if a runner from first was stealing and had already reached second at the time of an errant throw from the shortstop(trying to throw the batter-runner out at first); the original runner would only be awarded third base, and not home.

JMHO

Rich Wed Apr 21, 2004 07:39am

Quote:

Originally posted by zebracz
Hey ya'll...good work this season so far, right?

But, whether an fielder is in the outfield or the infield makes NO difference as to where and when the base awards are given. Also, in your post, you asked in your situation whether R1 gets bases awarded from the time of the pitch or the throw?

It's from the throw. If he had already touched the two-bagger, and then F6 (or F8) throws the ball out of play and over first, then R1 gets HOME!


...and I believe that your quote of FED rules: ("So my FED rule book says 2 bases are given from the time of the pitch, if a infielder throws the ball out of play, on the first throw by an infielder.") seems to be wrong.

It's from the time of the throw.

Have a nice day, ya'll...



You're wrong. Did you even pick up a rulebook before answering?

Base awards on a first play by an infielder are from the time of pitch unless the batter and all runners have reached the next base by the time of throw. Since the BR hadn't attained first in the original play, ALL runners are awarded 2 bases from the time of PITCH. The rule is the same in FED play.

R1 is awarded third even though he has reached second at the TOT since the proper award is TOP. Treat F8 as an infielder if he is playing in the infield.

--Rich


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:04pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1