The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 06, 2004, 10:33am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 23
Question

Yesterday at my sons JV game there was a call made that not anyone was sure about. OK, here goes, the pitcher pitched the ball, the batter hit a hard-hit grounder back at the pitcher, and it hits him in his right shin, and it bounds towards third base where our runner runs into it, and no, it hadn't past the third baseman yet. The umpire let all runners stay on their bases, making it bases loaded, with still 2 outs. I'm not sure on the ruling, what it should be, or why he called it the way he did, it did help us out though as the next batter hit a triple and knocked all the runs in, but I felt like he made the wrong call. What do y'all think? We have a couple of dads who ump youth league ball and they thought that maybe he called it that way because(1)after it hit the P and started rolling towards third it slowed it down so much that the 3B wouldn't have had a chance to make a play at any base anyway, or (2)that he considered the P as making an attempt to field the ball when it hit his shin and since it touched him while doing so, it no longer mattered if it hit our runner, or (3)if it only mattered if a runner was hit by a batted ball and since it touched a fielder first it no longer had to be avoided by our runner. Thanks in advance for your input.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:28pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1