The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 12, 2004, 02:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 31
OK I get it now...

I can see the reasoning that the set position deals primarily with delivering pitches not throws to first. Clearly the "case law" determines application of the stature, but the "statute" plain language make it seem that a pitcher "must" stop when going from stretch to set. "The pitcher, following his stretch, must (a) hold the ball in both hands in front of his body and (b) come to a complete stop." It would seem logical that if going from stretch to set is a "preliminary movement" the rule requires a stop. The rule does not say "The pitcher, following his stretch, must (a) hold the ball in both hands in front of his body and then (b) come to a complete stop, or (c) step toward and throw to a base."
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:44pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1