The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   L. It is Umpire Interference When: (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/12531-l-umpire-interference-when.html)

w_sohl Tue Mar 02, 2004 10:21am

46. A base umpire collides with a base runner.

I couldn't find a rules reference to support either answer. Don't necessarily need to give me the answer, just the rules reference so that I can find it out myself.

bob jenkins Tue Mar 02, 2004 10:41am

Quote:

Originally posted by w_sohl
46. A base umpire collides with a base runner.

I couldn't find a rules reference to support either answer. Don't necessarily need to give me the answer, just the rules reference so that I can find it out myself.

I don't have it here, but try 2-interference, including any cross-references.

w_sohl Tue Mar 02, 2004 10:44am

Looked it up but it only refers to the umpire interfering witht he catcher or a live ball, not a runner.

bob jenkins Tue Mar 02, 2004 11:48am

Quote:

Originally posted by w_sohl
Looked it up but it only refers to the umpire interfering witht he catcher or a live ball, not a runner.
So what does that tell you ... ? ;)


w_sohl Tue Mar 02, 2004 02:00pm

I hate these tests, I am always looking for something that specifically mentions what is asked in the question.

So it would be safe for me to assume that it is the runners responsibility to avoid the umpire at all times, even though we are still doing the best job we can to stay out of their way while obtaining the best position to make a call?

LDUB Tue Mar 02, 2004 03:58pm

It is rule 2-21-2. It is umpire interference only when he hinders a catcher's attempt to throw, or when a fair batter ball or a thrown ball contacts an umpire.

cowbyfan1 Wed Mar 03, 2004 05:47am

Quote:

Originally posted by LDUB
It is rule 2-21-2. It is umpire interference only when he hinders a catcher's attempt to throw, or when a fair batter ball or a thrown ball contacts an umpire.
also if the ball lodges in the umpires equipment. see 5-1-1g

ozzy6900 Wed Mar 03, 2004 06:24am

When an umpire interferes with a runner it's "Tough Sh**". Umpires can only interfere with the catcher (providing he is attempting to throw out a runner) and with a batted ball (base umpire) before it goes past a fielder other than the pitcher.

greymule Wed Mar 03, 2004 08:21pm

I once worked with a base ump who called interference on himself because F6 had to throw around him on the tail end of a double play. He called BR out even though he beat the throw.

The offense complained (big surprise), so we conferred and he reversed his call. The defense didn't say anything.

tiny Thu Mar 04, 2004 02:20pm

Yeah, bad mechanics and the base ump and a round of beers on him that night!!!

umpyre007 Sat Mar 06, 2004 10:21am

Quote:

Originally posted by cowbyfan1
Quote:

Originally posted by LDUB
It is rule 2-21-2. It is umpire interference only when he hinders a catcher's attempt to throw, or when a fair batter ball or a thrown ball contacts an umpire.
also if the ball lodges in the umpires equipment. see 5-1-1g

That is NOT interference. This section of the FED rule book pertains to live/dead balls and the rule you refer to just makes it an immediate dead ball with bases awarded.

As others have noted there are ONLY two types of umpire interference:

1. PU interferes with the catcher while the catcher is attempting to throw a runner out.

2. BU is in the B/C position and is hit by a fair batted ball that has not been touched by the pitcher.

ANY other instances are just plain bad mechanics or something else screwy happens.

In twenty years of umpiring I had never witnessed BU interference until last year when it happened twice during the HS season. In both cases my BUs were in the C position and a hard hit liner hit the ground in front of them and then took a wicked bounce. Talk about chagrin on their faces. They both bought me dinner. ;o]

Now to another related subject; ever have BU partners that straddle the foul line when in the A position? Break them of this habit and get them completely into foul territory. I use the analogy of what would happen if the portion of their body in fair territory is hit by a batted ball. The ball can ricochet or stop and the defense may still be able to make a play on the BR. In any event the BU may be taking an extra base hit away from the batter and he WILL hear about it from the offense's coach AND will rightfully have to eat some crow as he is being dressed down by that coach.

U007

bob jenkins Sat Mar 06, 2004 08:41pm

Quote:

Originally posted by umpyre007
Quote:

Originally posted by cowbyfan1
Quote:

Originally posted by LDUB
It is rule 2-21-2. It is umpire interference only when he hinders a catcher's attempt to throw, or when a fair batter ball or a thrown ball contacts an umpire.
also if the ball lodges in the umpires equipment. see 5-1-1g

That is NOT interference. This section of the FED rule book pertains to live/dead balls and the rule you refer to just makes it an immediate dead ball with bases awarded.


Yes, it IS interference. Note that 2-21-2 (Umpire interference) specifically refers to 5-1-1g as an example of interference.


Rich Fri Mar 12, 2004 11:25pm

Quote:

Originally posted by umpyre007
Quote:

Originally posted by cowbyfan1
Quote:

Originally posted by LDUB
It is rule 2-21-2. It is umpire interference only when he hinders a catcher's attempt to throw, or when a fair batter ball or a thrown ball contacts an umpire.
also if the ball lodges in the umpires equipment. see 5-1-1g

That is NOT interference. This section of the FED rule book pertains to live/dead balls and the rule you refer to just makes it an immediate dead ball with bases awarded.

As others have noted there are ONLY two types of umpire interference:

1. PU interferes with the catcher while the catcher is attempting to throw a runner out.

2. BU is in the B/C position and is hit by a fair batted ball that has not been touched by the pitcher.

ANY other instances are just plain bad mechanics or something else screwy happens.

In twenty years of umpiring I had never witnessed BU interference until last year when it happened twice during the HS season. In both cases my BUs were in the C position and a hard hit liner hit the ground in front of them and then took a wicked bounce. Talk about chagrin on their faces. They both bought me dinner. ;o]

Now to another related subject; ever have BU partners that straddle the foul line when in the A position? Break them of this habit and get them completely into foul territory. I use the analogy of what would happen if the portion of their body in fair territory is hit by a batted ball. The ball can ricochet or stop and the defense may still be able to make a play on the BR. In any event the BU may be taking an extra base hit away from the batter and he WILL hear about it from the offense's coach AND will rightfully have to eat some crow as he is being dressed down by that coach.

U007

1. In FED this is considered umpire interference (it was a Part I question -- see Bob's citations) and
2. Umpires in the American League straddled the line for decades. There are much bigger things to worry about. I couldn't imagine telling a partner something so trivial. I certainly wouldn't alter my mechanics like this just to make a partner happy.

--Rich


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:20pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1